We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Susannah Place Museum

Susannah Place Museum
58-64 Gloucester Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9241 1893
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$82*
and up
Sydney Attraction Pass Including Taronga Zoo...
Ranked #31 of 238 Attractions in Sydney
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The working class did it tough in Sydney in the 19th Century. View the laundry copper, backyard dunny, worn lino, tiny kitchens and crowded living quarters when you visit this rare surviving example of a working class terrace. Then stock up on sweets in the old corner shop. Open daily 2pm-5pm. Museum access is by guided tour only. Tours can be pre-booked by phone or same day tickets are available for purchase in the shop (subject to availability). Adult $8. Concession $4, Family $17. Sydney Living Museums members free.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

No visit to Sydney is complete without spending time, on foot, in the Rocks. The cases are great, the views absorbing, and the history fascinating. Take your time - you will make some amazing discoveries

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    29
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Another piece of Sydney history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Susannah Place is a row of four apartment homes. It gives you a firsthand experience of how the people lived in the mid nineteenth century. The guided tour tells you about the lives of some of the people who lived there. It is interesting. It is another piece of the Sydney learning experience.
The homes are not in good condition. We were not certain whether they leave them that way for historical reasons or if they are planning to restore them.
It is only open from 2:00 to 5:00 and tours are hourly. So there are only three tours per day with of maximum of about 12 per tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Evoking the recent past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I picked up a fascinating book from The Rocks info centre in Sydney called "A Place in the Rocks" which made me determined to visit Susannah Place and find out more . Guided tours are held at set times and it is advisable to book ahead as the one I went on had the maximum number of people. As the rooms are quite small, too much crowding reduces the quality of the experience. Each of the four terrace houses in the block tells its own individual story over 100+ years of occupancy. The young English woman who was our guide was well-informed and interesting. The stories she told of the families who lived there were very touching and the history of the place was vividly brought to life as we wandered through each room and around the outbuildings in the backyard. It is astonishing that Susannah Place survived the "urban renewal" of the 1960s-70s when so much of the Rocks was destroyed, as at that time the historic precinct was viewed as a useless anachronism standing in the way of "progress".
The corner store is really fascinating too, as it has been recreated with goods for sale from an earlier time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic - not just for tourists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Having lived in Sydney all my life, it has only been now that I discovered Susannah Place.

Located in the Rocks (near the Australian Hotel), the very well recreated step back in time museum is a must see.

Only accessible via guide tour, I would suggest making the telephone booking to secure your place as numbers are limited. The tour that I attended turned away people.

The tours seem to be run only in afternoons, on the hour. Tours take approx 1 hour.

Photos are only able to be taken of the backyards. All bags/backpacks need to be "cloaked".

Well worth the visit for locals and tourists alike to get a feel for life in the Rocks all those years ago...and to 1990.

I would suggest not suitable for young children (in prams), given stairs in the townhouses.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A lovely lesson in social history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The tour around these old terraced houses takes about an hour, and tells the story of The Rocks area including the birth of urban environmentalism in the 60s. It would have been a tragedy if this area if this area had been bulldozed, and all this history lost. There are so many places vandalised by city planners in this era, though they have now sometimes swung the other way and prevent change and improvement in the name of preservation. An interesting collection of first & second-hand accounts brings the history to life. I'm not convinced the museum is right to focus on preservation as-is and eschew restoration. This is a sort of controlled neglect which, I fear, will ultimately lead to the loss of the buildings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Susannah Place Museum also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Susannah Place Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Susannah Place Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.