We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wentworth Park Greyhound Racing

Wentworth Park Greyhound Racing
5 Wentworth Park Road | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
+61 (0)2 8587 1203
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 239 Attractions in Sydney
Attraction details
1 review
“Great night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Excellent fun night , family friendly , neat tidy and good people . Easy to get to and from . Food was fair and drinks cold. Good value .

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheapest City Views In Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

For many years, I have travelled to Wenty Park to have a great feed, a few bets, and an amazing night out. Next to nothing to get in, people and staff are so friendly and best of all it can help assist Greyhound Awareness for adoption purposes.
The heart of the city and definitely where mine is grounded to!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Cost was $6 to get in. Champagne flute was around $7, premium beers $6. Had a meal in the bistro which was $16. All good value. There were 10 races on and we were up in the grandstand having a great time watching and having a bet on each race. Mixed crowd of young and old. The Sydney city skyline in the background is a nice little bonus and we were lucky it was a nice summers night.

You can catch the tram/light rail to and from Wentworth Park as we did and they come every 15 minutes until midnight. There are pubs around the Glebe area to go to afterwards we were told.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“And Now For Something Completely Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were staying in a hotel near Sydney's Central Station. Our tour guide provided us with some tickets to the Sydney Greyhound Racing stadium for Friday night so we figured we might go for the 1000 metre walk across from Darling Harbour and check it out. Now don't get me wrong. This is NOT Sydney's best attractive, but it would have to be one of its more interesting, unique, unpretentious, non-rip off attractions. Admission was only $6 in the end so the free tickets were not as valuable as we originally thought. The food in the bistro was standard fare and OK priced, but the beverages seemed to us to be very well priced compared to some of the establishments in say Manly.

We had a few bets along the way, but the real fun was watching the greyhounds right up close and seeing the entire race as the racetrack is relatively short. The atmosphere when they release the bunny (a fluffy toy!) was incredble, even if they did have only what appeared to be about 500 people in attendance.

If you are looking for something close to the city and a little different, then I'd recommend this as an interesting night out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Gone to the Dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A trip to the "Doggies" can be a really cheap and fun night out. The entry fee is $5 and then it is up to you how much you want to spend.

Great fun can be had betting on the rough outsider and hoping they win. You are able to stand very close to the track and the finish line or sit in the stand if you prefer.

Many families bring their kids along to watch the races and there is space for the kids to run around.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wentworth Park Greyhound Racing also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Wentworth Park Greyhound Racing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentworth Park Greyhound Racing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.