We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel, comfy beds , would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels to your Saves list
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   631 - 635 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, nice hotel, comfy beds , would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Decided to book this hotel based on trip adviser recommendations, stayed 2nights (Feb2014) in a triple room, loved the location, a few minutes walk from Central station, the hop on hop off bus stopped right outside, walked to opera house each day, (25-30mins around 3km) very comfy beds, all 3 us agreed, shower was also lovely, flat screen tv in room, air con was great to have as it got quite hot at night, elevator to take you up to whatever level you are on, felt safe at night because you had to enter a code on the door to get into the building (past a certain time) close to Chinatown. Will stay again next time I'm in Sydney!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Rosanna22,

Thank you for recently staying with us at Pensione Hotel Sydney. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased that you found our beds comfy and the rooms to have all the conveniences you required during your stay in the city.

Pensione’s location is perfect with Chinatown just a short stroll away and the walk to the Opera House is a fantastic way to see the city sights.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Sydney.

Warm regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    217
    107
    51
    47
See reviews for
80
165
85
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here on a Friday night and chose the hotel based solely on it's proximity to the Capitol Theatre for a show.

It is literally a 2 minute walk from the theatre, and the validated parking is actually the Capitol Theatre carpark. All very handy and also very close to Chinatown, so for anyone driving in for a nice meal and a show I would highly recommend this hotel based on that alone.

The hotel itself is obviously quite old and some may say it's in need of an upgrade....perhaps so and overall, the condition is pretty average. That being said, it is the kind of feel we like, very old and historic corridors and fitout so for those who don't need the 5 star feel, you won't be too worried.

The room is very small, but again no problem because we weren't there to spend hours in the room. There was a small fridge and an aircon that both worked fine.

The cons:
The shower was missing one third of the shower screen, so the "rain-shower" head which was fixed on an angle simply sprayed right out of the missing door flooding the bathroom! And you had to fiddle with the toilet flush button to get it to stop running. The TV reception is also a bit dodgy so don't expect HD quality. Once again, these were not deal breakers for us and we'd have no problem returning.

We were also told over the phone by the Hotel staff that the parking was validated by the hotel for the reduced rate and you were allowed a 24 hour period. Unfortunately when we paid for the parking at midday, the carpark attendant told us that the validated carpark was only until 11am! So we got stung for full price parking.

Keep in mind also, that this hotel requires you to leave a safety deposit of $100, or if you pay by card, they put a freeze on that amount on your credit card. I've not come across this in any hotels I've stayed at before and when I asked the lady at the desk, she wasn't too forthcoming with the reason why they did this.

All in all, the place was good, and mainly due to the location and the historic feel (which we like), I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a reasonably priced overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Sydneygolfer,

Thank you kindly for your review of your recent stay with us at the Pensione Hotel Sydney.

We are pleased to hear that you found our location convenient for your visit to the Capitol Theatre. We are in a perfect location for dinner and a show, with so many other great attractions on our doorstep, including close proximity to Chinatown and many fantastic places to eat.
We are very proud that we have been able to keep the historic components of the building, whilst adding an eclectic twist to our Hotel.
We are however sorry to hear that your parking was not validated upon departure. We do validate parking to 11am the next day, and we apologise for any misunderstanding that may have occurred, we certainly do try to provide accurate information in regards to this facility due to our property not having onsite parking.
As an apology we would certainly like for you to return to Pensione Hotel Sydney allowing us to look after you during your next visit.

We appreciate your comments with reference to our safety deposit of $100. It is disappointing to hear such feedback, we would like to explain the process for these transactions. Upon arrival at the hotel we action a pre-authorisation for the total accommodation amount plus a $100 bond on the room for any incidentals. These funds are then held on your account and upon departure we process a completion of your total stay amount from these held funds.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our wonderful Hotel when you next visit Sydney for a show.

Warm regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in February 2014 for 2 nights centrally located and easy walking distance to where we needed to be small rooms very clean and tidy bed very comfortable,staff very friendly and helpful,was a bit hard to find though had to ask several people how to get to it and wasn't very well known to locals, one downfall very small lifts and moved very slowly, overall very pleasant place to stay

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Missey1961,

Thank you kindly for your review of your recent stay with us at the Pensione Hotel Sydney.
We are delighted that you found our facility clean and comfortable and in a great location. This is one of the many reasons why people return to Pensione Hotel Sydney and we are pleased that you had the opportunity to experience this too. Being in such a vibrant part of the city, we can certainly understand how it may be difficult to find us.
We would love to hear from you next time your visiting Sydney.

Warm regards,
Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

For the cheap price paid, it was worth it, room was tiny, but I found it cute. The bathroom was modern and great. Great location to Chinatown, Market City, supermarkets and transport at the doorstep. Young guy behind reception was very helpful but needs to cheer up a bit and wear shoes (nothing personal- he is the first point of contact of your hotel). Other than that, thank you for the experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear StandardIssue,

Thank you kindly for your review of your recent stay with us at the Pensione Hotel Sydney.

It is great to hear that you loved features of the property that we too also believe are what makes it a great place to stay.

As you mention we are extremely close to all of the major attractions the city has to offer and if you are wanting to escape the buzz of the city, public transport can be caught right on the doorstep.

It is also great to hear that you found the team to be helpful during your stay, however I certainly do apologise that you did not always find this to be consistent at all times of encountering the Front Desk.

I also completely agree that first impressions are everything and as a company and individual team we strive to ensure each and every contact we have with our valued guests is that of a personal touch, therefore my apologies if at times this did not appear to be the case.

I can assure you that your comments have been raised immediately to prevent this from happening in the future.

I am very pleased though that overall your experience was that of a good one and we hope that you will be contacting us in the future, the next time you are visiting the city to assist with your travel plans.

Warm Regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed here for a week whilst in Australia to do some filming. The room was clean and tidy, great bathroom with strong shower. Fridge, water and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a laundry room which I found useful and free WiFi which proved to be very handy. The staff were great, really helpful and the hotel is nice and central. All boxes ticked, it was a great stay. My only issue was with the door to the kitchen area constantly banging throughout the day and night whenever someone went through, you need to do something about that! I'll be back that's for sure. Thank-you!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear OG Media W,

We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay with us and that as a result of this you will be back to stay the next time you are in the city.

We always love to see a friendly face and once you confirm your next set of travel dates please don’t hesitate to contact us directly so we can assist with your booking needs to make sure once again you have a fantastic experience with us.

We also appreciate you advising us about the door leading to the Guest Lounge and would like to assure you that this is being managed by our in house maintenance team to ensure it doesn’t impact on our future guests.

We look forward to hearing from you again soon.

Warm regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The location is right on George St with easy access to everything within walking distance. We had a little problem at first trying to locate the main entrance of the hotel even our driver could not locate it. The reception is on the first floor.

Our room is perfect and roomy enough for 4 of us to move about. Super clean, with tv, fridge, ironing board + iron, hair dryer, safe, wifi and a fabulous shower room!

Will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Monkeybone11,

We are really excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last November resulting in you coming back to us the next time you are in Sydney.

We love to welcome our guests back time and time again and find out where your travels have taken you in-between visits, so please be sure to contact us when you next have confirmed dates.

I am also pleased to hear that you did manage to find the front location of the hotel. George Street being so busy with many great shops, restaurants and cafes can be a little overwhelming at first and our front signage is certainly something we will be reviewing in the coming months to ensure this is made that bit easier when visiting us for the first time.

We look forward to hearing from you again soon.

Warm Regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Dissapointed with the hotel. Could do with a good re decor. Carpets wornout. Bed room was in a dark corner. Bed was confortable but squashed between two walls. Wanted a single bed for third adult but got a bunk bed. Window completly opaque so could not even see through althouh veiw was just a roof top. Not at all as advertised on the web. Dissapointed.

Room Tip: Call hotel before booking to avoid disapointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PensioneSydney, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Arvinder N N,

It is very disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy all aspects of your recent stay with us at the Pensione Hotel Sydney.

The hotel is that of Heritage Listed and to prevent losing the original features we have worked around this to create a boutique style accommodation. We do understand though that this may not suit everyone and we are sorry in this case we did not meet with your expectations.

The hotel does offer a variety of style rooms and I believe for your party of 3 a Deluxe Triple may have been more suited to your needs located on levels 3 and 4 of the building offering 3 separate beds and a more modern décor.

We certainly do hope that you would consider coming back to the hotel to experience one of these room types as I feel that you would enjoy the comfort a great deal more than the standard triple you had reserved this time around.

I am pleased however that you found the beds to be comfortable which would be due to the lovely Microcloud bedding we have throughout the 8Hotels properties.

We would love to hear from you again and allow us the opportunity to ensure you enjoy a more comfortable, relaxed stay with us next time you are in the city!

Warm regards

Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Address: 631 - 635 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sydney’s entertainment and theatre district, the Pensione Hotel Sydney is centrally located and like no other. Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Sydney Pensione Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.