We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Kings Cross” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ibis budget Sydney East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel ibis budget Sydney East to your Saves list
Hotel ibis budget Sydney East
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   191 - 201 Williams Street | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Formule 1 Sydney East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Close to Kings Cross”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed with Canberra Wanderer 74 the night before the City 2 Surf fun run. Our room was the standard single bunk over a double bed but I was interested to see this property didn't have the modular capsule type bathrooms. I found this gave you more room in the shower and no problem with things getting wet if you use the closed toilet seat. Lovely breakfast room overlooking William Street with an outdoor area as well. Fascinating people watching as the thousands of participants stream past for hours. My brother was back from Bondi before the final entrants had entered the tunnel. Easy walk to Kings Cross station for transport to City and walking distance to Hyde Park. There are also numerous car and campervan rental locations nearby. We paid less than the advertised price of $229 for a Saturday night.

Room Tip: William St could be busy (it was closed most of the time we were there) so if noise is an issue you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajith R, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Jaybee1965,
Thank you for submitting a review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will certainly share this with our team.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the functionality of the room, our breakfast offering and the proximity to Sydney CBD and transport options. Please rest assured that all our windows are double glazed, which limit noise levels in our rooms on the William Street side even with traffic.
Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    71
    130
    75
    90
See reviews for
101
109
55
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here as a family in two rooms for one night and our son participated in the City to Surf 2012. It was convenient for him to get to the starting line at an early hour and for us to watch either from a front window in one unit overlooking Williams Street or simply going outside and up to the top of the tunnel to witness the mass of bodies streaming up Williams Street and through the tunnel.

The accomodation was comfortable, good shower and TV and the back room was quite, except for some idiot who obviously lost his way and banged on our door at 4am thinking it was his room.

There is a breakfast facility but didn't avail ourselves of it.

Steep stairs to enter from Williams Street however there is a back entrance which is more friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on William Street may be noisier than those at the back of the building. Didn't get a repo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel for the 3 nights we were in Sydney, as we are A/Club members of the Accor hotels group.
Not at all what we expected as an Acoor hotel.
- Had to change rooms 3 times in order to finally get a decent room!
- first night they put us in a handicap room (eventhough neither one of us is a handicap) by the main road. Did not sleep the whole night with the traffic noise. Asked to be moved the next day .
- All rooms have no night stands,no closets, no phone, nowhere to place your luggage.
- We had to keep our luggage open on the floor, as no closets, cabinets or drawer anywhere in the room.
- you get 1 towel and 1 tiny barsoap per person. No shampoo, no hand towels, no tissues.
- The shower has a curtain and is open in the bathroom, so everything gets wet when you take a shower!
- I believe beds must have had bedbugs, as my husband and I ended up with bites on our bodies in the morning.
- The breakfast wich we paid extra for, was: toast, cereal, yoghurt (not every day) and coffee from a machine!....that's it, for 9 australian dollars a person.
-When we asked to have the points added to our Accor account, they said they don't take the A/Club card....!!
All in all, very disappointed with what was listed as a 3 star hotel. I would give it 1 star!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Hi. I was quite happy with my stay at F1, Sydney East. It was my first time in Australia, so I did not know anything about Sydney or the area. It was nice walking distance from Opera house, with some nice scenery along the way with lovely parks, Sydney sky tower etc.

The hotel itself was nothing luxury, but clean, quite and met my expectations for a good nights rest. Breakfast for $7 was good too.

Thank you
Will visit again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel suited me perfectly as a place to put my head down at night. It was conveniently located for me and the service was curteous and proompt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

I expected terrible accommodation from what I've heard about formula 1. But this stay was great. Cheap accommodation so I only expected a small room. The room was neat and tidy, and is in a great location. the air conditioning was nice too so it was good to come back and have a nice warm room to sleep in. Definitely recommend it if you just need somewhere to crash for a night

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Lured by what at the time appeared to be good value and location, Formule 1 Sydney East turned out to be our worst hotel experience EVER. Upon entering the lobby, you are greeted with a spilled soft drink all over the floor and dregs of a kebab strewn across the stairs...neither of which were cleaned up by then end of our stay 2 days later. Entering our room, we are bowled over by the stench of bleach, and equally as appalled by the array of stains along with a friendly cockroach crawling across the headboard and the cigarette burns in the sheets. But seeing as we were only using it as a place to sleep, we could have put up with that, but the 'hotel' even failed as a place to sleep, as the neanderthals masquerading as 'guests' on our floor had absolutely no respect for fellow guests or the property they were staying in. After a big night out at approximately 4am, the guests on our floor were gathered in the hallway, drinking loudly, banging on other guests doors for over 2 hours and being generally abhorrent, to the point where we felt unsafe and trapped in our room.The experience was culminated by one of them setting off the fire alarm, evacuating the entire building in the process. Unbelievable. Upon returning to our rooms, we are again disturbed this time, by said delinquents arguing with police who had come to question them about their behavior, eventually resulting in a deserved arrest. At check out, reliving the ordeal to hotel staff, breaking from replaying CCTV footage to the attending police officer, just nonchalantly shrugged their shoulders and said "yeah this is a normal Saturday night". Which probably explained the cage in which the 'concierge' transformed into for refuge in after dark. I will never stay in a Formule 1 again, and the generally respectable Accor brand should not associate itself with hellholes like this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ibis budget Sydney East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Sydney East

Address: 191 - 201 Williams Street | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Formule 1 Sydney East)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel ibis budget Sydney East 1*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes from the Sydney CBD in the cosmopolitan East Sydney, Formule 1 Sydney East is the ideal inner city budget accommodation. The lively area boasts a huge range of restaurants, bars and clubs; and is within walking distance to the city, Sydney shopping, museums, art galleries, Hyde Park and the colourful Oxford Street.From the close by train station, Bondi Junction, Circular Quay and many more attractions are only a few stops away. Rooms feature a queen size bed with single or double bunk, twin beds or quad share rooms and all have a private en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and LCD TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Sydney East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Sydney East Hotel Sydney
Formule 1 Kings Cross Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ibis budget Sydney East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.