We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So central to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street

Save Saved
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   329 Pitt Street | Corner Pitt and Bathurst Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi-Fi*
Ranked #15 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So central to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Visiting with friends from overseas this was a great central location to get aound and see all the tourist sites. Only a couple of minutes walk from Town Hall station and a nice 15-20min walk to either Circular Quay or Darling Harbour. I was lucky enough to grab an apartment when they had a 50% off sale and was surprised they still had rooms over the Australia day long weekend less than a week out. Even at full price these are very reasonably priced rooms for Sydney and have more space than just an average Hotel room. The rooms are spacious with a kitchenette and full sized fridge and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend any Meriton apartment as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Darren B,

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay over Australia Long weekend!

I’m thrilled to hear that you were able to get such a good rate at very short notice. As you mentioned, Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street is located in a fantastic central city location. Restaurants, shopping centers and Sydney’s famous sites are all in walking distance otherwise public transport is readily available just steps out the door.

As you noted, Meriton Serviced Apartments offers modern, spacious, fully equipped apartments. Studios have kitchenettes and all other apartments have a full kitchen which makes it very convenient if you are travelling with children or if you want to self-cater.

Thank you for your kind words and the positive review, our staff pride themselves on providing the highest level of customer service and it is pleasing to hear this was your experience. I have passed on your comments to the staff and they were happy to hear your appraisal.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. From the team at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next return to Sydney!

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    475
    303
    67
    27
    14
See reviews for
321
187
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a great base for a stay in Sydney, well located with good transport links. Our studio apartment was spacious and had everything we might need, including a washing machine and tumble drier (brilliant if you're on a long trip) as well as kitchenette with kettle, toaster. There is a gym and pool but we never got round to using it, too busy exploring the wonderful city.
Check in/out was quick and efficient.
Great value for money.
Would definitely return.
Just be aware that the restaurants very close by (including the ones recommended in the folders in-room) shut quite early, usually 9pm latest. After that you'll have to go a little further afield. We found a great Nepalese restaurant, the Mughal just a few streets away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear BathHappyTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your five star review about your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street! We certainly appreciate the recognition especially from a senior contributor!

As you mentioned, Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street offers oversized, fully equipped apartments in a perfect, central city location! Whether you’re here for business or pleasure Meriton Serviced Apartments has something for everyone and gives you that special “home away from home” feeling.

Please be advised, most of our room service provider’s close at 10pm, we are however in the process of looking at adding on new and exciting restaurant options for those that are wanting to order room service late at night.

Once again thank you for your fantastic feedback, I look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were please that when we arrived at 9;30 AM they had our room available. Our two bedroom apartment was nice however the toaster did not work and we had problems with the garburator. When we called to have them fixed someone showed up within the half hour and fixed the problem immediately.
They kindly stored our luggage for 4 days while we toured Victoria.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Cessna_Flyer,

That you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street!

I note that you arrived early to the hotel and your apartment was available for an early check in-that definitely makes things easier after traveling! Please accept my apologies that the toaster and insinkerator wasn’t working correctly in your apartment, I was pleased to read that these minor issues were promptly fixed once reported to reception.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback, I look forward to welcome you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street on your next return to Sydney!

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My second stay at these apartments - got a very good deal for Sydney. The location is great, right in the middle of town and very close to the train station if you need it (plus close to shopping). The rooms are very clean and comfortable, with everything that you need. If you get a price that works for your budget, this place will be great for you. This time I had a studio which had no bath - the one bedrooms have fabulously enormous baths (and enough hot water to fill them). There is no on-site breakfast, but they can order a breakfast to be delivered, or there is a cafe right across the street (and plenty of other places nearby).

The small negatives: My tv, even on the lowest volume, was quite loud. I do think it is a bit cheeky to put out bottles of water that are $3 each, and both times I have stayed, I haven't been able to get my tax invoice at the time that I paid (and wanting a quick checkout in the morning, haven't wanted to have to deal with it then).

Room Tip: Not all rooms with balconies have accessible balconies due to safety reasons, and king size beds in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Flight99,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street!

As you kindly noted, we are located in the heart of Sydney city with public transport, shops and restaurants just minutes out the door – staying with us is so convenient!

I’m pleased to see that you enjoyed your oversized, fully equipped apartment and that it had “everything you needed” while on holiday.

Thank you for bringing the high TV volume to my attention, it is only through feedback such as yours where we are able to evaluate ourselves and find room for improvement. In regards to your comments about the tax invoice, unfortunately our system doesn’t allow us to print a full itemised tax invoice until your day of departure. To make things quicker for you we can email invoices directly to you after you have departed. To use this service on your next stay simply advise us during check in and we can certainly organise this for you.

Flight99 once again, thank you for your time and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed two nights in a lovely one bedroom apartment. Was lucky to get a last minute deal from travelzoo.com for the Australia Day long weekend. Apartment is in a terrific location with several restaurants nearby. There is a Woolworths supermarket a 5 minute walk away and a 7/11 around the corner. Apartment is large and well appointed with full kitchen facilities. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom had both a walk in shower and a separate bath. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Street M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear zootout,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a great review on your recent stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street. I’m pleased to hear that you were able to get a last minute special deal for your booking over the Australia Day long weekend!

As you mentioned we offer modern, spacious, fully equipped apartments in a great central location! Necessities like Woolworths, 7/11 and a range of restaurants are just steps out the door!

Zootout, thank you again for your positive review, I look forward to welcoming you on your next return to Sydney!

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I made a late booking for a 2 bedroom apartment, which was an extremely good bargain. Travelled up from Canberra with my son and his partner and child. This location is the perfect place for shopping and dining. Staff gave excellent service, from check in through to check out. The apartment experience beats anything else - I will only use this on further trips to Sydney.

The car park was a little tight, but this is to be expected in any CBD - all was manageable though. I especially enjoyed the fact that a bath was included in the main bedroom, as this meant the 5 year old could enjoy her usual bath at night. Kitchen facilities excellent. Allover, excellent accommodation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Street M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Vanessa J,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a 5-star review on your recent stay!

I’m pleased to hear that you were able to get a great rate when making a last minute booking. As you mentioned, we are located in a perfect city location! Just steps out the door and you are at fantastic shopping centers, restaurants and famous Sydney attractions. It definitely makes things convenient when in Sydney for a shopping trip!

Thank you for your appraisal of the front desk staff. The staff at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street strive to provide the highest level of customer service to all guests to ensure that everyone has a memorable and enjoyable stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback, from the team at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Staying at the end of December did mean that we were paying extremely high rates and maybe a little bit more could have been done/provided to make it something special.
My mum and i had a small one bed apartment, although it is central and a good base for Sydney. The kitchen area is nicely appointed, but the issue for us with the standard kitchen unit fit is that the "eye level" cupboards are too high and that all the cupboards are filled with utensils etc that there isnt really anywhere to store packet foods (but this issue was found in all apartments). The dining table isnt really an appropriate dining table nor the "chairs" which are more like arm chairs that match the sofa so you can't tuck yourself in, and in our room (10th floor) the table and chairs were too near to the entrance door which made it difficult to get in and out of the apartment. We were going to move it against the wall in the lounge area but then read a notice in the book saying that furniture couldn't be moved...so they either need to rearrange the layout themselves or purchase proper dining chairs that can go under the table. The laundry cupboard was fully equiped and the cleaners provided washing powder without charge, as well as the bathroom soaps etc. Initially the bathroom was lovely on appearance, but then we realised the shower unit door didn't shut without force then it wouldn't open so maintenance was sent and fixed the issue. Again slight layout issues in there too as the shower door opens onto the toilet so it was only possible to have one person in the bathroom. There was a minute balcony, so seemed pointless unless you smoke. The bedroom was a good size and the beds were comfortable, and a large fitted wardrobe. We didn't have any issue with the cleaning, but maybe they didn't sweep the floor while we were there (5 days), we had to empty the bins, and also the books "instructions" on how to use the oven were of no help and had to be figured out ourselves with plenty of time to work out if it was actually heating.
The lifts (3) were odd in that you would have to stand and wait for ages as they tended to just go past a couple of times. The pool area seemed adequate but the water collected by the door to the area so you had to be careful not to slip.
The location is brilliant for the train, and the supermarket is on the same block, and is only 20mins walk to the quay area for the rocks/bridge/opera house.
All in all it was a good apartment in a brilliant location that provides some extras but the general layout and function of our apartment was not the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Steph T,
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments.

Please kindly note that I will be investigating your comments further and addressing this with the appropriate management teams, please accept my apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced.

I would like to thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
MSA Pitt Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street

Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street Hotel
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street Hotel Sydney
Address: 329 Pitt Street | Corner Pitt and Bathurst Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#18 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting 178 spacious apartments of impressive space and design in a variety of studio, one, two and three bedroom configurations. Located on the corner of Pitt and Bathurst Streets the property occupies a central position in the heart of Sydney. Conveniently within walking distance to most business including the financial precinct of Martin Place. Also only moments to Hyde Park, State Theatre, Darling Harbour, World Square and Chinatown. The world famous Queen Victoria Building is just around the corner and is full of inspired shopping and eating options. A short stroll down Pitt Street and you'll find The Galleries Victoria, Strand Arcade, Myer, David Jones, Mid City, Westfield Shopping Centre and Castlereagh Street where the best designer brand boutiques await. An array of dining experiences and entertainment options are close-by, so you can enjoy all the cosmopolitan life that Sydney has to offer. Exploring Sydney is easy with so many ways to get around town including buses, ferries, trains, Monorail and Light Rail systems. The Monorail travels past this great location, down Pitt Street then around to Darling Harbour. A variety of local restaurants are able to deliver meals directly to your apartment door or within the same block of the property is a large Woolworths Supermarket for all your grocery needs. Luxurious spacious apartments have a kitchen (studios have kitchenettes), and a separate laundry, which includes clothes washer, dryer, iron and ironing board. The apartments are also fully air-conditioned and most have opening windows and balconies to allow for fresh air - although balcony doors are locked on Fridays, Saturdays and Public Holidays, due to our improved safety policy. The registered guest of the apartment is legally responsible and liable for all damage/harm caused by any object leaving the apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Meriton, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.