We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to the city and quiet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mariners Court Hotel to your Saves list
Mariners Court Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   44 - 50 McElhone St, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 65 Sydney B&B and Inns
Runaway Bay Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Handy to the city and quiet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here very recently and was surprised to find how handy it was to everything that we needed for the weekend. Close to the city without all the noise you could expect for a city hotel. Check in was easy and the room was clean and was well priced which also included a buffet breakfast. Food was excellent and very clean and choice of sitting inside or out on the balcony to eat. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a upper floor if you wanted your own small private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    83
    22
    10
    11
See reviews for
21
78
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here to attend a wedding in the royal botanic gardens so chose this hotel for its location. We were very pleased at the convenience of being able to stroll into the botanic gardens within 10 minutes and after post drinks with friends in Surry Hills it was great to be able to be back at the hotel in around 20 mins on foot. I would be cautious about walking from the cross back to the hotel on your own late at night though. We did have a few issues with the room such as the bathroom needing a major update with chucks of tile/grout missing and there is something a little haphazard:odd about the furnishings/set up of the rooms that makes them feel a little claustrophobic. Our balcony definitely wasn't really somewhere we would want to sit out on either. The bed was comfy and the free wi-fi were a big bonus though. The included breakfast was an extra bonus but wasn't that fantastic of a spread considering when I went to get myself some bacon I was put off by the pool of liquid it was sitting in in its Bain Marie so couldn't stomach it and it was similar with the eggs. To us the place just had a bit of a weird feel and we would probably return to our normal choice of a b&b in Glebe or a yha double ensuite room as they offer better value and standard with parking. If the rooms were fixed up to a better standard then I think it could be a winner. Service was good from management who called us with instructions for check in as we were arriving late. However, we found housekeeping and the other guests not to be overly friendly. A good budget option for those who are more interested in being right in that area and within walking distance to the cross.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel was recommended to us so we booked on trust. We were a little put off when the taxi driver failed to find it at first. However, this is excellent value for money. The rooms are clean, well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast is complimentary and is substantial. Good coffee from an excellent machine, fruit juices, cereals and yoghurts, cold meats and chews, scrambled eggs, bacon and beans, plentiful toast of every variety AND a very pleasant chef who pops in and out regularly to make sure everything is all right. The hotel managers are very helpful....nothing is too much trouble. Do not be put off by the location. It is close to Finger Wharf and, more importantly for us, very close to the Botanic Gardens which separate it from the city. Therefore we had a lovely walk through the gardens every day...less than 20 minutes amble to Circular Quay and the Opera House. Also close to a superb lido and excellent restaurants...try Frisco's less than one hundred metres away!

Room Tip: Top floor affords better natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is close to the Botanic garden and which makes a lovely walk to the harbour bridge area and also, further west to Darling harbour. Rooms were clean and functional and there was a good selection for breakfast. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Good value for price- not new, not fancy but we walked all over the city from here, also caught the subway. Be ready to do some steps as getting to the above neighborhood involved lots of steep steps. Very quiet when we were there, also the breakfast was a good add on value to the room. It is basic but enough to get you going for the day! Manager was very helpful and polite. We were able to check in early when our international flight got us there- a big relief considering how tired we were.
Realize that this hotel, along with other budget accomodations we stayed in, do not have 24 hr staff and if you need assistance with things, you might have to wait a while!

Room Tip: we stayed in a private room with bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

What is to like, location, location, location, Ran along the harbour, ran along the inner city parks, walked to my conference, walked to my awards night, walked to great Japanese close by, couple of waterside pubs at the end of the road and close to Art Gallery of NSW which I love. Always good to stay in what seemed like a family owned property & not a chain. Nice friendly helpful staff on check in (they leave your keys in a safe box if you check-in late so be organized). Breakfast was utilitarian, not flash but did the job and there was a lot of it, I had it on the balcony with a news paper, perfect. Rooms again are older in style but clean and every thing works, I used aircon and door on to balcony options for a cool sleep. The sleep was good and quiet. I think this is a good low cost find close to the city that doesn't have either a budget or chain feel. Bring the kids, stay for business or city based activity, it wont wow you magazine style but that is not its niche. PS take the address written down both taxis I took were clueless and spelling is a tricky Irish or Scottish name.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the property seemed nicer the 3rd floor was good no restaurant, no games ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights. Was pleasantly surprised at the size of our family rooms. I was expecting one room only. Breakfast was a bonus. Nice room and good variety. Friendly staff. Only downside was having to pay exfra for carpark, perhaps thats because its in inner sydney. Very handy location to attractions.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariners Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Court Hotel

Address: 44 - 50 McElhone St, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariners Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, 3 and half star (AAA rated) boutique hotel located 200 meters from the foreshore of the Woolloomooloo Wharf Complex. Within walking distance of the Opera House. The city centre is approx 1 km. Includes a complimentary light breakfast and in-house movies. All rooms have en-suites, TV, ph, fridge and tea & coffee making facilities. and feature either a courtyard or balcony. Undercover parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Mariners Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Court Sydney
Hotel Mariners Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariners Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.