We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient, secure and reasonably priced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mariners Court Hotel to your Saves list
Mariners Court Hotel
44 - 50 McElhone St, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Runaway Bay, Queensland
1 review
“Friendly, convenient, secure and reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed for a week from 28th February after choosing Mariners Court from the web. It is within easy walking distance of convenience shopping and restaurants. The NSW Art Gallery, bus service to the CBD and Kings Cross are also accessible by foot.. The climb of about 100 steps to Kings Cross from the street to the rear of the Hotel is rather steep. The complimentary breakfast is quite adequate. The staff are efficient and keen to make guests feel at home. Judith and Craig are particularly hospitable. We can comfortably recommend the Hotel to friends and family and would certainly choose to stay there on future visits to Sydney, A major drawback was that on several nights our sleep was disturbed by noisy guests in other units, even after midnight.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    73
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
17
64
23
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed at the Mariners Court Hotel for 5 nights, early March 2012. At first arrival we were curious, it didn't really look like a hotel. However it was an Old Naval officers place sometime ago hence the appearance. However, staff were very pleasant, breakfast was cereal, bread,tea coffee machine, orange juice, boiled eggs very nice and this filled you up for the day and keep costs down. Sydney is expensive so this helped immensely.Its very central to Kings Cross Train station and walking distant to City (20 mins) and the walk is beautiful beside Naval office and through The Domain.Sydney is a beautiful City, you can get train and connecting bus to Bondi, Coogee beaches. Go see Bronte and Tamarara beach also. A big special thanks to CRAIG on reception from myself and my husband, he was so easy going and laid back and helped us out of a shuttle bus situation. A big Irish Thank you...

Room Tip: Its a city hotel, so view is restricted. It has a naval appearance so don't be alarmed. Rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This hotel is good value in a great location, just a five minute walk from the NSW Art Gallery. It's not the cleanest we have ever stayed in and the breakfast selection is minimal and basic, however the staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a good selection for an inexpensive bed to sleep in in inner Sydney and nothing more.

Be careful in the area at night as it can be quite rough in places. It's probably totally safe, but best to keep your wits about you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Church as this is the quietest part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanuatu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

I booked to stay at Mariner's Court after reading varied reviews in TA. I was pleasantly surprised by the very warm greeting on arrival and the very helpful service at all times.
The complimentary Continental breakfast is among the best I have seen (including espresso coffee) comprising all one would need for a nice start to the day.
My room was clean, serviced daily & had all I required for a comfortable stay.
The managers are new so disregard any reviews before October 2011. These folks are very obliging and know their 'stuff'.
I will recommend the Mariner's Court as a "value-for-money" hotel and will definitely stay again when in Sydney CBD.
Thank you Jude.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina Beach, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The Mariners Court is an old sailors home that has been refurbished. The hotel is very secure, good beds and clean.Parking at $20 a night is pretty good and parking is available in the street outside at no cost but just watch the restrictions.Some of the bathrooms are a little rough around the edges so to speak but overall a good experience. Continental breakfast is included in the very good value price. We have stayed here several times and the last time ( Jan 2012) the breakfast now included cold meats, cheese and boiled eggs (very european and very nice). This place isnt real flash, but the points already mentioned will bring us back again and again.The cost of $125 a night (special) for a double with brekkie is very very good.Great hotels and restaurants are very close, and what better than pies at Harrys cafe de Wheels a 100 metres away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This hotel is really welll located - just 5 minute walk from the Art Gallery of NSW and the Domain and 20 minute walk through the botanical gardens to Circular Quay. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the room was comfortable... not the cleanest or best kept I have ever stayed in, but it was excelllent for the price. The bed was comfy, the room quite large for a big city hotel and the area was very quiet overnight. I would not rave about it - but I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Victoria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Excellent location for the Art Gallery of NSW, the Domain, Botanic Gardens. You can get to Circular Quay via this beautiful walk. Travelling solo, I found the Frisco Hotel just around the corner was excellent and super close to the hotel. Another great eating place to sit out the front and watch the passing parade was Sienna Marina (or similar spelling!) Opposite the 'Blue' Hotel on the wharf
I hired a bike in the Rocks with the assistance of the manager, it was easy to get home after that for a shower (and a walk through those divine gardens again) to take off for another activity. I walked up a very steep street behind the hotel to get to King's Cross railway station. You need to take a quick bus ride from there to get to Bondi Beach, too far to walk. A comment :I have read on this site that the walk to the station is 'dangerous'. I found it charming walking past the terraces and just behaved as you would in any large city, would happily do it many times. Wouldn't walk it at night obviously as a solo traveller, that goes for many Melbourne areas too! Final comments, again like others appreciated that it is a non-smoking hotel, the breakfast was brilliant, enjoyed on the terrace each morning with the newspapers. I am very puzzled by others comments re the management, their availability etc. They are available always at the touch of a button or via phone. I felt very safe and secure here, well done to management for such strategies. Will stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: Anything from the 1st floor upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariners Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Court Hotel

Address: 44 - 50 McElhone St, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, 3 and half star (AAA rated) boutique hotel located 200 meters from the foreshore of the Woolloomooloo Wharf Complex. Within walking distance of the Opera House. The city centre is approx 1 km. Includes a complimentary light breakfast and in-house movies. All rooms have en-suites, TV, ph, fridge and tea & coffee making facilities. and feature either a courtyard or balcony. Undercover parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mariners Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Court Sydney
Hotel Mariners Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariners Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.