We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable complete day.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ribbon Day Tours

Blue Ribbon Day Tours
Rosemont Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2025, Australia
+61 421 892 760
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 415 Activities in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours around Sydney ,specialising in the Blue Mountains by mini bus - personalised service with FREE accommodation pick ups.We are a local Australian family using Australian drivers fully experienced. Our tours take you to some of Australia's most breathtaking scenery in the Blue mountains World Heritage park. Suitable for tourists and locals of all age groups. Providing interesting talks along the way.Our bus is airconditioned with high back comfortable seating and with no more than 20 people.Tour operates every day of the year and the phone is available 24 hours.During our Blue mountains one day tour you will experience invigorating fresh mountain air,incredible wildlife, spectacular panoramic views of verdent green valleys, sheer sandstone cliffs and magnificent rock formations over 300 million years old. Our tour is high quality offering excellent value for your money. We pride ourselves in being locals providing a unique and memorable Australian experience.
Devonport, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable complete day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

Each moment of our experience was good, Personal pick up service at the front door of our Sydney Marriott hotel. Saw all the features that were detailed in the program - the three sisters an incredible site. The animal preserve was great and some scenic lookout points to get varying perspectives of the cliffs and gorges. The price is most reasonable with so much included, just the extra for the three rides at the Scenicworld centre as they explain it all. The company we would recommend to all ages of people to enjoy.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    3
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“If we had actually been on a Blue Mountain Tour as booked.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

I made our reservation for this tour a month in advance. Per the email from Dave, I contacted Blue Mountain Tours the afternoon before our scheduled date to find out the pickup information. The lady on the phone couldn't find our reservation - asked for a reservation number but I only had an email from Dave confirming that we were booked for our chosen date. Eventually she claimed to have found it and said THEY would be there about 7:20am the next morning. However, we were apparently put on another tour (Tours R Us) without any notification from Dave, the owner of this company, or any mention of it on the phone call from the day before. They were 20 minutes late in picking us up (said he was given the wrong hotel information?). The driver was a very negative person (told us about all the fires, fire deaths, school children who died because drivers didn't slow down in school zones, deaths from skin cancer - would we like to see his skin cancers?!?, how we would would end up in the Katoomba hospital if we didn't stay well hydrated during the day, etc). Some of the other people on our tour had also made reservations with Blue Mountain tours but were moved to the Tours R Us group without any notification. Some of the stops were a total waste - all we did in Leura was make a 45 minute stop at a shopping center! The scenic rides place (which you pay extra for) was packed with people and the rides were very short. Featherdale Wildlife Park and the view at Echo Point were the only two things really worth doing on this very long boring day. Plus we missed the ferry (because the driver got back to the bus 30 minutes later than he told the group to be there at the rides place) and therefore got back to Sydney much later than scheduled. I understand there might be circumstances in which Dave might need to use another tour company on occasion - however, not even bothering to give your customers notification or an explanation is unacceptable and unprofessional. I chose this tour based on the high TA reviews which is what made this tour even more disappointing. I certainly would not recommend using Blue Mountain unless you can be certain you are actually taking the tour you booked. The Tours R Us tour did not include some of the things Blue Mountain advertised.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We had the best time at the Blue mountain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

The tour is well designed to give a very good overall impression of the mountains. You get to see it from rocky outcrops, from in the valley forest, from the towns and along the way they give you good stories and facts and anecdotes. Our local guide, Dave, is well versed and keeps the day going at a good pace. Suited even by my elderly mother who accompanied my wife and I .Our two kids aged 11 and 15 years also found plenty to keep them interested. Petting the koala bears was amazing. Totally marvellous tour at an good price point too.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
“Brilliant day !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 NEW

All the superlatives can not do justice to our tour. It all well and truly lived up to our high expectations and next time we visit Sydney we would like to do the same trip again with Dave again. His explanations are clear ,he drives safely and keeps to a good time schedule which is important when you have people from all different cultures. The Blue mountains were just how we saw them on all the promotional things and are one of our countries best world heritage parks. Also it makes you proud to be an Aussie when you see the country is so nicely presented to visitors on tour.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 NEW

We debated visiting the Blue Mountains on our own, but I'm so glad we took this tour instead. We were picked up at our hotel front door in a small mini-bus. Our driver was personable and knowledgeable. Included was a stop at the Featherdale Wildlife Park which we thoroughly enjoyed. A nice sit-down lunch was provided, and we had plenty of time to take in the views. The only additional costs were the optional rides at Scenic World, but everyone chose to do them. Instead of taking us all the way home, they put us on the nice fast ferry at Olympic Park which gave us a gorgeous ride up the river, ending at Circular Quay. Highly recommend this tour!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Blue Ribbon Day Tours, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Every tour review we receive is respected and appreciated.
When it is one from a TOP CONTRIBUTOR we feel particularly honoured ,firstly, that you chose our tour, and , secondly , that we received a 5 STAR rating.
We strive to do our best for each tour , and it is so encouraging that you have taken your time to write this review and chose to include our company in your portfolio.
Thank you,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ribbon Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Blue Ribbon Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ribbon Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.