We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beef Tataki Dreams” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fuku

Fuku
644 George St, Sydney | World Square, Shop 1103, Level 1, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
02 9261 8977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #375 of 5,305 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beef Tataki Dreams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I'm a huge fan of Japanese cuisine and have been drawn in by Fuku twice in the last week. I have not found better Japanese food in Sydney yet. They don't do ramen or katsu which I'm a fan of too.

The staff, decor and food are all top notch.

I highly recommend it!

Try the beef tataki. We've had it both times and would love to know the secret of the ultra flavoursome red onion they have in that dish.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch one weekend. A bit worried at first, that food might not be good, as we were the only customers around.
Staff were polite and service was good. Our orders came within 20 minutes of waiting.
The twice cooked duck was very tender, tasty and juicy. The prawn tempura was good, prawns were well cooked and the batter coating was just right, not too thick. The wagyu beef was cooked perfectly as well. In other words, everything we ordered was good.
We will definitely come back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My friends and I are working our way through the menu at Fuku, and are yet to be disappointed. Miso smoked cod is dramatic and delicious. Sushi is fresh and beautifully presented.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good quality Japanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

FUKU is located opposite Din Tai Fung, Sydney's famous dumpling restaurant. We stumbled upon FUKU some time ago after gettign fed-up of waiting in a long line-up outside Din Tai Fung. It was great to get straight in and be seated in a comfy restaurant with a nice ambience.

The menu is great and has typical Japanese cuisine along with a few dishes that have a modern twist. The wine list is interesting and offers some different varieties than the main stream.

The service is always very attentive and polite and the restaurant is always immaculately clean and well presented.

We have since dined many times here with just two of us through to large groups and they always manage to look after us very well and serve really great Japanese cuisine. Highly recommend this inner city restaurant to people looking for a low key, easy but professional restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuku also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Fuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.