We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last -contemporary Lebanese food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embers Mezze Bar

Embers Mezze Bar
52 Oxford Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
+61 2 8354 1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 5,305 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Havelock North, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“At last -contemporary Lebanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were one of only two tables occupied when at Embers and had very friendly and attentive service from one of the owners. I think he would be the type to try to do the same no matter how busy he was. The food was beautifully prepared and the textures as well as the flavour were very well thought out and interesting. There was little of the 'traditional' Lebanese style dishes on the menu and we loved that. I like Lebanese food but there are plenty of traditional restaurants serving traditional dishes. The only problem I found was the poor lighting outside the entrance, making the street appeal very modest and we walked past first before returning after. The building is an historical gem and doesn't need ugly big signage but would benefit from brighter lighting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    4
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place instantly became one of my favorite places to eat. The chef had no problems adapting the menu to gluten free. The beef cheeks are amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not your normal lebanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Great food in a beautiful building . Really interesting menu and surprisingly good value. Second time I've been-and both times great. Give these guys a go- they obviously care about their food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This restaurant is a gem. We met friends for a fantastic dinner from start to finish. We chose the banquet which enabled a taste of many of the great dishes. We also selected the Lebanese wines which matched well. The Staff were very attentive and helpful. Make sure you leave room toward the end of the banquet as the lamb and beef cheek dishes are to die for. We will definately visit again when in Sydney. Thanks Henry and staff!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We wandered from our hotel on Hyde Park and within 5 minutes were here. The waiters were attentive, welcoming, as was the ambiance.
Everything looked great on the menu and we chose generously. The waiter helped with long and considered descriptions when we had questions.
When it arrived the food was even better than it read.
Mezze with a twist, and the twist was the key, it was amazing, so amazing we took what we could not eat and then left it i the fridge at the hotel, because we loved the idea of eating it again tomorrow (but forgot)!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Embers Mezze Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Embers Mezze Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embers Mezze Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.