We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for weekend brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bourbon

The Bourbon
22 Darlinghurst Road | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
290358888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #929 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place for weekend brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Unusually quiet on weekend mornings we tried their breakfast menu and took a table outside. We had the Phoebe's hash breakfast and the avocado smash. Delicious and very satisfying. The best part however is the entertainment provided by the locals. Never a dull moment!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Drummond, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quiet dinner with outside seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and i, along with another couple, had dinner here on a Sunday evening and had no trouble finding an outside table. We had the steak and chips with salad-- at $22 -- and it was quite tasty. The red wine pours were a bit skimpy for the price. Felt very safe since the police station is right next door. Stop in for a meal if you are looking for something in the Kings Cross area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“arrogant and ignorant bouncers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A problem in many Sydney establishments is the choice of neanderthals that they employ as bouncers, limited life experience and unable to distinguish between types of people.
Last Sunday at around 10pm I was going to buy a young ( 22 yr old) visitor from UK , a nightcap. We had flown in from a trip to Qld, had gone directly to the SugarMill for a quickie, but excellent $10 steak and we had both consumed two glasses of house wine. The 'bouncer' at the Bourbon challenged my young friend, who is quiet-shy and has a strong Northern accent, apparently unintelligable to the 'bouncer' who deemed him drunk. I am a great believer in monitoring drinking and so am pleased with not allowing drunks into a bar but in this instance we were both sober, polite, casually dressed, but well presented and the only issue was this guys inability to cope with a quiet, shy young man with an accent he didn't comprehend.
We didn't remonstrate, but left and had a drink elsewhere before returning home early after a long day travelling.
It was no real loss not being allowed into the Bourbon because its only good point is the position if you can sit close to the outside to watch the passing parade, other than that it is very avwerage, some nice staff and some averge ones. Music tends to be way to loud for the small room and the food is hit and miss. No decent nibblies if you want something to nibble on whilst drinking, which could be a good money spinner for them.

all in all this great venue needs to pull its socks up in several areas and is only doing well because of lack of competition and a great position. .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“amazinge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Every restaurant or café I went to in Australia the food was just amazing. I am writing about this one because at least you get served. Most pub or cheaper restaurant you order food from the counter and then sit down with a number at wait. The food at this restaurant was just amazing and its located in Kings Cross which is in the "red light district" of Sydney. But it is a safe and fun area and this is a very smart cool restaurant right in the middle of kings cross right next the El Alamein Fountain.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great steak and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Went for dinner. It looked crowded from outside but most were here for drinks. The restaurant itself had few people. Had the scotch medium well which was exactly the way I ordered. Nice slab of juicy lean meat with a side of garlic butter sauce and parsley garnishing. Chips were light and fluffy and and crispy on outside. The sauce accompanying the chips was a bit strange though, we decided to use the garlic butter for it instead.

Very good steak indeed for 25 bucks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bourbon also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Bourbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bourbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.