We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best gelato ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RivaReno Gelato Darlinghurst

RivaReno Gelato Darlinghurst
280 Crown Street, Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
+(61)2 9356 2669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Italian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Famous for all natural ingredients, freshness, purity and intense flavours, RivaReno contains no hydrogenated fat, preservatives, colours or flavours. Gelato is made in small batches several times a day to ensure ultra-freshness in the in-store lab. Gelato is stored in traditional Italian pozzetti (cylindrical containers) deep inside the counter, avoiding exposure to air for better conservation.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best gelato ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014 NEW

You simply have to try the Ganache and Moka. The texture of that flavor is absolutely amazing! It IS like having a cake and ice cream in one.

My wife had the chocolate sorbet, which was really good as well. We need to try those ice cream cakes displayed on the corner next time.

The staff were very accommodating and gelato was fairly priced. We will be back for more!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    6
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best gelato ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

The unique flavors and creamy texture is far superior to any gelato I've ever tasted, including in Italy!

I only wish one of their stores was close to where I live.

Bravo!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I'll be back for more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

What a way to end our first wedding anniversary, dessert at this gem of a place.
Love that you can taste test the flavours.
I ended up getting Lemon and Raspberry sorbet and Salted Caramel gelato... Amazing!!!
My husband got Lemon sorbet and Baci gelato.
So good we went back for seconds!
Only a short walk from The Colombian Hotel on Oxford St, very easy to find.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Riva Reno - gelato as it should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

If I were to say anything about Riva Reno it would be the consistency in how amazing the Gelato is each time I go back. The natural ingredients used and the smoothness of the gelato creates this 'needing to keep going back for more' reaction!!
If you are after that 'yum' factor and flavours that are truely palatable then give Riva Reno a try - it surely will make a lasting impression.. Especially when being served by Italians - it just transports you over there for a few moments :)!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Real Gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

I didn't know what real gelato tasted like until I went to this place. So creamy. Made from imported Alpine milk. Once you taste it you can't go back to the normal stuff that gets sold in Australia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RivaReno Gelato Darlinghurst also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to RivaReno Gelato Darlinghurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RivaReno Gelato Darlinghurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.