We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Gelato is to die for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RivaReno Gelato Darlinghurst

RivaReno Gelato Darlinghurst
280 Crown Street, Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
+(61)2 9356 2669
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Ice Cream in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Coffee & Tea, Late Night
Description: Famous for all natural ingredients, freshness, purity and intense flavours, RivaReno contains no hydrogenated fat, preservatives, colours or flavours. Gelato is made in small batches several times a day to ensure ultra-freshness in the in-store lab. Gelato is stored in traditional Italian pozzetti (cylindrical containers) deep inside the counter, avoiding exposure to air for better conservation.
1 review
“This Gelato is to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I am crazy about gelato, and finally a friend told me about Rivareno. Never had I had such incredible gelato. The texture is so smooth and velvety, each flavour tastes exactly how it should (because they use real ingredients, no fake flavourings or colours or gimmicks).
Definitely worth a try, but warning: it is impossible to stop at one scoop!!!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    9
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“This is the best you will ever try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My friend had been talking about this place for ages so I tried it for the first time last week! Now I understand why she's been going on about it! The ricotta and fig flavour which i think is this month's special was amazing. I also tried two other flavours - the New York-New York which has pecans in it and Baci, which tastes like Nutella only better. I am now totally converted and can never go back to Messina. Sorry Messina.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never had better gelato anywhere!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is QUALITY and not just a FAD - I've never had better anywhere in Australia. This is my favourite dessert place ever. It cannot be compared to artificially flavoured, preservative and sweetener laden rubbish people called "wonderful". Having worked in the food/nutrition industry for over 30 years, I am very aware of quality products and this place ticks all the boxes.Check the menu board for full information about the products. Seeing the area where all products are produced under full view shows me there is no fear on letting everyone view what goes into the products and how the are made. Whenever I eat anywhere within about 5km of this place, I take my friends (local, interstate and international) here for dessert. RivaReno is much better value (less than $6) and far more enjoyable than the over-rated restaurant desserts usually costing $12-18.00. Spoil yourself and your friends with just one visit.....bet you'll all back (but not as much as me!!!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not amazing ice cream”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was here on their opening day, so perhaps it has changed since then but the quality of the ice cream didn't change my life. The place looks nice, but the ice cream is hidden behind the counter where the customers don't see it. Then there was the ice cream itself. I got it for free as they had a promotion on their first day. i didn't finish it... didn't change my life

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivaRenoGelatoSyd, Owner at RivaReno Gelato Darlinghurst, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Diego97,
We are really disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. We would like to address some of your concerns.
Firstly, in relation to why you cannot see the gelato:
RivaReno uses a system called "pozzetti" to preserve the gelato. This is the traditional italian way of storing the gelato. Any serious gelateria in Italy uses this system. However, please note that gelato shops in tourist traps do not. Therefore, we always say when going to Italy, look for these, as you know that they take the gelato seriously when they use this system, just as we do.

What this refrigeration system does is keep the gelato at the perfect temperature; not too cold, so that the flavours are more intense; also it gives the gelato a creamy, soft texture which we are famous for. It is more hygienic, and as our gelato is very natural with no preservatives, it helps to better preserve the gelato. Basically, in simple terms, since the gelato is at its best the moment it comes out of the gelato machine, the 'pozzetti' help to preserve it in this state.

RivaReno uses strict quality controls to ensure that the gelato is always fantastic. Your comment about the gelato is highly unusual, as normally people who try our gelato, especially for the first time, are amazed by it. So perhaps there was some unknown reason why you did not enjoy it that day. For this reason, we invite you to come back in or call us on 9356 2669, and please leave your details, so we can get in touch with you. We would love to turn your experience into a positive one, and explain a little bit more about us, and what we do, and why we do it. Please take us up on this as our customers mean a lot to us. At the end of a day, we want to see our customers leave with a smile.
All the best,
RivaReno team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just like in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

When I saw there was a RivaReno in Sydney, I knew I had to try it because I loved going to one of their locations in Milano. While I had planned to stop here during my recent visit to Sydney, I hadn't planned on having gone to Messina and then stumbling upon RivaReno. Both are great gelato places and I love them both, but for the authentic Italian gelato, you have to go to RivaReno! Sydney, consider yourself lucky!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RivaReno Gelato Darlinghurst also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to RivaReno Gelato Darlinghurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RivaReno Gelato Darlinghurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.