We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funky converted wool shed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1888 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 1888 Hotel to your Saves list
1888 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Murray Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“funky converted wool shed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

A funky boutique hotel in a converted wool shed , Modern industrial design, vintage wooden tables and chairs, brick walls and exposed beams. A refreshing change from the usual chain hotels. The hotel is in a good location close to the CBD and darling harbour about a 10 minute walk. We booked the junior suite (1st floor) so a bit more room than the norm. not much to see from the partially frosted windows but made up by the well appointed room, big tv, free WiFi, huge comfy bed , soft plush pillows, and good bathroom with big bath tub and walk in shower, fluffy robes were a nice touch. very friendly staff and nice bar area. Our overall experience was first class. Thanks 1888 staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear LLLS13

It was great to read that you found 1888 Hotel to be a refreshing change to the usual chain hotels - that is what we are all about, being a cool boutique hotel with stand out service.

The Junior suites are great rooms, a perfect choice for pampering. Come back soon so we can spoil you some more!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    199
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
60
560
69
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had one night here and having wanted to avoid the typical chain hotels it delivered as desired at a fair price; under $200 for 5 star in Sydney (through booking.com) is great value. We didn't have a shoebox although our room was still quite "compact" but fine and the bathroom was a good size and functional. Nice coffee in the eating area but we chose to head to Glebe for a Sydney brunch experience (which was pretty good; try Astor on Glebe Point Rd which is only a few minutes drive from 1888). Very helpful staff and we liked the no paper policy. We were impressed that one of the few remaining wool stores in Sydney has been saved and put to really good use.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear mftlat,

Thank you for your kind comments. It was great to read that you loved how this historic building has been repurposed into this cool boutique hotel. Thank you also for you 5 star feedback on our service and cleanliness.

Come back soon and try more that The Eatery & Bar has to offer, we do a lot more than just great coffee!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

After several hundred hours in the air - economy class - Hotel 1888 was the BEST place to land. I looked like rubbish and their staff were so nice to me. I forgot my charger and they came up to the room and gave me one to use - at 1am. The best thing ever was that I instagramed my cup of tea and chocolate by my bed and lo and behold, a long lost friend from Perth was sleeping two floors down from me. She saw my instagram and posted one just like it. We then caught up for breakfast the next day. It really is the world's number one instagram hotel. I would have never known she was in town, let alone the same hotel, if I didn't gram that bedside saviour!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Betty,

I loved reading your review, it was wonderful to learn that you caught up with a long lost friend. It was also great to read that 1888 Hotel was the best place for you to land, with our unique facilities and caring service.

Come back soon - you never know who you might meet!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a funky little hotel in a pretty good location close to the CBD and darling harbour. Just don't expect a whole lot of space when you book your room unless you pay the premium for the suites. The downstairs restaurant is a very trendy little hangout, though we didn't eat here, the menu looked pretty good. Overall id stay here again if you didn't want a lot of room and if it was just a stopover for 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Benny,

Thanks for the great review and it's wonderful to hear that we will see you again.

We are very fortunate to have a wide variety of room types giving our guests the opportunity to choose what is exactly right for them. The shoebox rooms are perfect for those who want all the luxuries of a boutique hotel and a great rate or for those that would like a bit more space and enjoy our popular king room the upgrade is only $20 per person...the choice is yours.

Your 5 star rating for cleanliness and service were most appreciated!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

1888 is by far the best boutique hotel in Sydney. My girlfriend and I stayed there for a special occasion and both of us loved it. It's located conveniently in Darling Harbour and just a stone's throw away from the Casino. It's less than 5 mins to walk right into the Harbour. It doesn't have any parking, but you can park your car in a public carpark located across the road - the parking is usually $60 something dollars for 24 hours, however the hotel gives you a discount card when you checkout that reduces it down to only $39. Overall, the room was clean, comfortable and very, very modern. It comes with a cool iPad style entertainment system and they actively encourage you to bring your own hard-drive in (loaded with movies/music). They have awesome music pumping downstairs, being streamed from a Spotify playlist. They've got a picture frame hanging in the foyer that you can jump into, which is perfect for a sneaky selfie as you check-in. The breakfast in the restaurant wasn't anything special, but it did the job and we were still satisfied. We will 100% be coming back in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in King Deluxe room 212. It's one of the few King Deluxe rooms that comes with a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Chris,

WOW - the best boutique hotel in Sydney, thank you so much!

It was great to read that you had such a wonderful time with us and enjoyed the unique services that we offer.

We look forward to seeing you again - 100%!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night. Most has already been mentioned by other review. The service was great. We stayed in a King room which was small but sufficient. The bed was very comfortable and the curtains black out the city lights well so we got a great night sleep. Breakfast was OK, I had the toast with jam which was fine, my husband had eggs on toast and his eggs were well overcooked. We got a cheaper deal on agoda, otherwise we wouldn't have stayed here for the standard rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Dev,

Thank you for the wonderful words and the 5 star rating for location, sleep quality, cleanliness and service. Thank you also for the comments about the eggs, I am sorry they were overcooked but am pleased that you let me know, I will now fix that.

Before your next visit you are welcome to book direct and we will ensure that you enjoy another great deal!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We loved every minute of staying at 1888 hotel, so comfortable from the moment you walk in, the staff are amazing, the food and coffee us wicked, I love our room, totally cool. If you haven't stayed here you should, it's the home you wish you had :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hi Stormdue,

Thanks for a brief but fantastic review!

We love that you loved the food, the coffee, your room and the team, we also loved having you visit. Stay longer next time!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 1888 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1888 Hotel

Address: 139 Murray Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 1888 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your 1888 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1888 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.