We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favourite Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1888 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added 1888 Hotel to your Saves list
1888 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Murray Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“My new favourite Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

1888 exceeded my expectations on every level. The attention to detail in everything from the archticture, amenities and art work right down to the boutique drinks menu gave the impression that a lot of thought and personality had gone into the decision making. I'll be back again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear eat_drinkMI,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are delighted to read you love our design and deco. The renovation is a labour of love and we were passionate about keeping all the original features and making sure that our service, our amenities and our menu were a true reflection of the essence of 1888.

The team and I can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    163
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
440
59
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Highly recommended as a quality accommodation option in the Darling Harbour area. Friendly and competent staff were always willing to assist. The free WiFi is definitely an added bonus! The brunch was of an exceptionally high standard, and included a variety of cold and hot options.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Ken B,

Thank you for sharing your experience at 1888 Hotel with us.

We are working on introducing more menu options in our fantastic Eatery&Bar and we can't wait to welcome you again soon to show you all the new additions.

Have you booked your next stay yet?

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A special weekend with the family to climb the bridge. The staff were amazing, the rooms were beautiful. Complimentary toiletries were gorgeous. A world class hotel at a great price. We had 2 rooms one for 2 teenage boys, and they were happy to split beds into singles. Very comfy beds as a king, no telltale middle join.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Nina J,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your experience with us and we hope you had fun on the bridge climb.

The team and I can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We needed a hotel close to Darling Harbour because we were invited to a wedding on a boat leaving from there. One of the family said they were staying at the 1888 so we just booked without checking. All I would say is it was a good decision as we stay in a lot of hotels and this ranks right up there as the best for location, service, fantastic staff, cleanliness and atmosphere. The rooms arent huge but they are ok and the beds are probably the most comfortable ive experienced in all my years of travel. I would almost categorise this hotel as boutique but can only say it is now our hotel of choice and so handy to any part of central sydney - good on the 1888 team.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Paul L,

Thank you for sharing your experience at 1888 Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and it is flattering to read the title of your review: "Best of the best".

We are happy we had the chance to look after you and can't wait to welcome you again soon.
We are so lucky to have some of the most comfortable beds in the world and the best team in town!

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here after a long business trip for a break and to take some time to look around Sydney with my girlfriend who was over from the UK. So I wanted a hotel that had many great reviews and looked interesting.

1888 was simply fantastic, the room that I stayed in was a loft room with the bed up on a mezzanine which gave a nice seating area with desk and sofa on the lower level.

Finish and decor in the room, and indeed the hotel was fantastic. I have stayed in many hotels this year for business and none have come close to how cool this place actually is!

Now, the real winner for me was THE BED! It was quite simply the best bed I have slept in for as long as I can remember, its actually dangerous because you won't want to get out in the morning, which may lead to you missing out on the sights and sounds of Sydney!

I actually done some research and I will be purchasing the mattress topper and pillows used in this hotel for my own bed!

Breakfast was lovely, with excellent coffee and juices, and the poached egg on toast was amazing!

Staff were helpful, friendly, dressed fantastically and really make this place as good as it can be, thanks again guys!!

I will return!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a loft room which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Scott M,

Thank you for the amazing review of you recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are over the moon to read that you have truly enjoyed your experience with us.
Thank you for sharing your feedback about the gorgeous décor, the super comfortable bed, the lovely breakfast and the service.

We are investing in the right team, the right fittings and the right food and our desire is to deliver an excellent experience to all our guests.

The team and I can't wait to welcome you again soon!

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Every time I entered the hotel, no matter what time, I was greeted by friendly staff willing to go to any length to improve my stay.

The breakfast there was just outstanding, I would have happily eaten there every meal of the day if possible. The mini bar in the room was full of organic healthier options that I have never seen in a hotel. Absolutely awesome and guilt free.

My room was called a 'Shoebox', but it barely felt like that. It was clean and cleverly laid out, with plenty of room for my baggage. The bed and pillows were impressively comfortable, I had amazing sleeps there after long days at a convention.

Plus the complimentary wi-fi was a bonus.

I had a blast and will definitely be back. Thank you 1888!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Kate K,

Thank you for sharing your experience and write a wonderful review of your stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are delighted to read that you loved your experience with us.
We love our locally sourced food and our organic mini bar product.

We are so happy to know that you had a blast and can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a true gem of a hotel. Incredible service on all fronts, fantastic accommodation, stunning decor. From start to finish I felt better catered for and serviced than in many of the top luxury chains (Morgans Group etc). Thanks to Michael and all who helped fish my keys out of the elevator shaft - you are legends! Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear RichKeen,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are so excited to read that you felt well looked after: that's why we are here!
The team and I can't wait to welcome you again soon. Have you booked your next trip yet?

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1888 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1888 Hotel

Address: 139 Murray Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 1888 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1888 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1888 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.