We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1888 is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1888 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 1888 Hotel to your Saves list
1888 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Murray Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1888 is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Exceptionally friendly, helpful and professional staff.
Being a boutique hotel the decor in lobby and rooms is 'cool/unique' and very appealing.
The Queen room I stayed in was very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Great location, a few steps from Darling harbour, and just a short stroll over the Pyrmont Bridge into the CBD.
Just a really lovely experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Vanessa M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We couldn't be any happier to read that you think we are great! The hotel is in an amazing location and we love to look after our guests.

Please make sure you don't wait too long before you book your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    215
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
65
603
76
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Excellent boutique style hotel. Rooms were very clean with a funky, chic decor. Staff were relaxed but helpful and could not have been nicer. Realy close to Darling Harbour also. The breakfast was excellent and was happy to see not just the usual junk in the mini-bar, they also stocked Bounce Protein Balls which were great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear PeterNorris73,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are so excited to read that you loved us I am sure you can't wait to visit us again: have you booked yet?

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

just stayed in this lovely boutique hotel, clean, modern, new. staff very helpful and friendly, even a sense of humour. darling harbour right there, bout 30 min taxi ride from airport $43,had 2 rooms booked for a girls weekend away, shoebox room and the junior suite, shoebox room small but very cute, (who spends much time in the room anyway) good sized bathroom, junior suite spacious with large window, great room, beds very luxurious, nice touch to the rooms are the mini bar products, different to your normal run of the mill stuff. had the big brekkie on Monday morning, yum yum! would come back to this hotel for sure, next time im in Sydney

Room Tip: stay junior suite just for that little bit of extra room and the big bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear celeste2363,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay wit us.

I agree with you about our perfect location: we are so close to everything Sydney has to offer.
I am glad you have enjoyed our fantastic team: a bit of humour makes your day go faster!

I really hope you have booked your next stay with us as we can't wait to see you again.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at the 1888. I stayed in a "shoebox" room - which was perfect for my purpose. Just a place to crash that was nice! Room was bigger that I expected. I thought their professional photos didn't do them justice. Only slightly annoying thing was the distance to a train station - but I knew that when I booked it. Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear pevans183,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are definitely trying to be unique in what we are delivering and we want to offer something different from the big chains.
We are glad you enjoyed your Shoebox: the best value in town!

The team and I can't wait to welcome you again soon!

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I loved this hotel. I stayed for 2 nights in a "shoebox" whilst attending a conference down the road at Doltone House. The staff are sensational - efficient, helpful and friendly - and given that they had been open for barely 2 months that is quite an achievement.

The location is great - an easy walk to Darling Harbour (about 3 minutes if that) and on to the city from there. The casino is a 5 minute walk away and there are many great restaurants in the surrounding area including Flying Fish only about a 10 minute walk away.

Excellent value at $140 per night for my shoebox. And my shoebox - excellent design, all mod cons, very stylish. The shoebox itself was more than adequate for one person. Perhaps with 2 you may get in each other's way but if you view your room as simply a place to sleep, shower and dress it would be fine. There is in fact about 80cm of clearance at each side of the queen bed and about 2metres at the end where they have fitted in a desk and a hanging space. The ensuite is normal size - no space issue there (unless actually you are a very big person then perhaps the shower may be a little small)

They have thought of all the details - not only design touches and an iPad loaded with information about the local area in each room - but the mini bar is stocked with a good range of organic goodies.

The only thing I was a little disappointed in was (lunch and dinner) dining options in the hotel but I am assured that all that is poised to change.

I was also enormously impressed with the Manager's customer service focus. I completed their customer satisfaction survey which was emailed to me the day after my departure. Within an hour the Manager had emailed me back thanking me for my feedback and explaining their plans for dining options in the near future.

A big fat gold star for Hotel 1888 and its staff. So impressed I will seek out their other hotels.

Room Tip: I stayed in a shoebox, room 319 in the centre of the hotel. No window as such other than onto the at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Louise A,

Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are over the moon to read that you have made a fabulous choice.
I am delighted you have shared your feedback about our fantastic Shoebox Rooms: now the best kept secret is out! Our Shoebox Rooms are an amazing value for money.

Our service is what we pride ourselves on at 1888 Hotel and it is fantastic to hear that this is being appreciated. I am very lucky to have such a wonderful team looking after our guests.

Have you booked your next stay yet? We can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for a weekend trip, and was impressed by just about everything. The location is good, with an easy walk to Darling Harbour, Pyrmont and the city as well as the tram and ferry services.

The building has been filled out very well, providing comfortable modern rooms while keeping a rustic feel with the original walls and woodwork. The bathroom was generous in size, there was sufficient room to move and store bags despite the opulent king-sized bed. Very nice.

The stand-out for me was the service provided by the staff. From the moment we entered the building, we felt most welcome. Friendly, courteous, professional and most helpful with everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear bok_gsm,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your experience with us and for us it is important to receive feedback since we just opened few weeks ago.

I agree with you about the building: it is simply gorgeous and the modern additions work very well with all the original features.

Service is important to us and we are genuinely happy to look after our guests: is it not the reason why you came to visit us?

Please make sure that you book your next stay soon: we can't wait to see you again!

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved every minute of our stay...the hotel's ambiance is amazing, Loved the team spirit and positive approach, they were all knowledgeable and had a can do attitude !

Great location.
Refreshing.
Unique.
Trendy.
Value for money.

Room Tip: No need for a room with a view, as your absorbed by the amazing furnature and everything around you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at 1888 Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear DreamMaker1,

Thank you for your amazing review of you recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are thrilled to read that your had a perfect stay and we all think you deserved it!
We are here to spoil our guests and to make sure that they are looked after.

I really hope that you have booked your next stay already as the team and I can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to 1888 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1888 Hotel

Address: 139 Murray Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 1888 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your 1888 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1888 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.