We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No ice cream” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kurtosh

Kurtosh
604 Crown Street | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #907 of 5,486 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“No ice cream”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I don't understand how any cake store in sydney can serve a cake without offering ice cream or cream on the side. It's a crime against humanity

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tiramisu?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Paid $15 for a conservative slice of what they called Tiramisu, however there was no espresso nor ladyfinger biscuit to be found. It was a $15 mound of cream and some chocolate dusting. Shall not be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“nothing like it around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My friend introduced me to this place about a year ago, since then they have opened up in Surry Hills and Crows Nest. I love the idea that you can choose the size of slice you want, big or small. Last time I went I got 5 different small slices of cake, and all were very tasty. The staff are very friendly and because there are so many different variety of cake they put up some samples if you are feeling a bit indecisive. I have been to all 3 stores and they provide the same level of friendly service and consistency with their cakes. Nice place, will continue to come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Kurtosh Surry Hills - Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This place is unbelievable. On busy crown street, it isn't an obvious place to go. However once you step inside it is calm and tranquil and smells amazing! The old wooden floor and little tables and chairs make it a lovely place to relax, and the little teapots you get are so sweet! The teas there are delicious and then there are the cakes!!! We have been a number of times and always find it hard to choose as there are so many on offer. I can definitely recommend the Tiramisu and teh Strawberry Sponge Cake - both of which are now firm favourites. We've also tried the chocolate orange cake, the raspberry cheesecake and the oreo cheesecake and all are equally as yummy! Definitely a place to keep going back to!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Kurtosh Randwick! YUMMMMM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

So one day I woke up bleary eyed from night duty, and my boyfriend magically presented a box of 10 miniature slices of delicious! I don't think the people behind the bakery counter typically get a request for "10 of your favorite samples in bite size portions", but she was happy to oblige and we were so happy with the variety of delicious cakes in this box! The pastries are sliced and served and you pay by the weight of each one. After trying ten of them, the tiramisu, the passion fruit and the raspberry cream one were my favorites, but really we ate them all and relished every tasty different bite. My boyfriend has a Hungarian mother, but she didn't bake anything so we can't comment on the accuracy of the pastries related to what you might find in Hungary. However, you cannot go wrong with any of their selections and you too should try as many tasty bites as you can. As for the coffee, I can't comment as we only had dessert and in a take away box at that. ENJOY!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kurtosh also viewed

Randwick, Greater Sydney
Stanmore, Sydney
 
Petersham, Sydney
 

Been to Kurtosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurtosh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.