We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O.M.G” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Est

Est
Level 1, 252 George St, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 9240 3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 5,162 restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“O.M.G”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

the best meal i've ever had, i've eaten here a few times (always for very special occasions) and every time it just gets better.

we had the chefs menu and peter doyal must be one of the most talented men in the world.

the service was impeccable and the wine list delectable.

i cant rave about this place enough. costa an arm and a leg but worth every penny.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    118
    38
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“sophisticated dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food is tasty and the mash potatoes are amazing. The service is what you would expect in a fine dining restaurant. Great for a special occasion, or date night!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great food. Waiters unfussy, helpful and friendly given I was eating alone. Lovely wine and divine flavours. Will definitely return.

Only, minor minus point is the fact that the lift won't open on the restaurant floor until after 12 noon... but there is noone and no sign to tell you that. I ended up in someone's private function a few floors up first time around...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place is far from expectation of a #1.

We ordered the beetroot salad, murray cod fillet and duck fillet. The fish tasted fresh and the duck fillet jus ok, but overall seriously nothign to rave about.1 try is enough.

Had high expectation of the service but felt it was jus mediocre.

Many other restaurants with better food, service and ambience for this price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Simply a pleasurable experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Celebrated our anniversary in this highly rated restaurant and doubtlessly, the best restaurant in Sydney. Credit to the top notch service, premium wine list and not least, exquisite food. We even received compliment a slice of cake as our anniversary gift. This restaurant certainly deserve the recognition...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Est also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Est, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.