We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining at it's best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Est

Est
Level 1, 252 George St, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 9240 3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 5,460 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fine dining at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had read many great reviews about this restaurant and knew it was very expensive but thought we should try it anyway. It certainly lived up to my expectations. We were met at the door of the elevator as we stepped out by a very cheerful, friendly man who confirmed our reservation, took our jackets and showed us to our table. The table was set with the best crockery, cutlery a linen. There was a very extensive menu which our waiter explained to us. We had a la carte as opposed to the Chefs menu or the Tasting menu. We had wine by the glass which the Sommelier recommended for each course which matched each course perfectly. There was one hiccup, our wine did not come with our entrée and when we asked about it they were very embarrassed and apologetic and said our wine for that course would be complimentary, which was great. The three courses we had and matching wines were fabulous. When we thought we had finished they brought us an extra chocolate slice with a candle in it, saying happy anniversary, which it wasn't but they said it was because we were first time diners there. Then they brought us complimentary petit fours. A nice touch. So overall the food was great, the atmosphere was great. the service was great, except for the one little hiccup with the wine, which was put right in the best way possible, and very quickly. The staff were great. I highly recommend this fantastic restaurant when in Sydney.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    59
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Maybe Best in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well, maybe second best, after Tetsuya. But then again, I used to think Est was about on a par with Quay and Aria, but in the last couple of years they have taken a step up.

The service is just astounding, I doubt it is better anywhere in the world.

Food is exceptional. Right up there and close to the best of the best in the world.

Wine list is rightly considered one of the best in Sydney. Though a bit pricey, even by 3 hat restaurant standards.

The only thing that every so slightly lets it down is the ambience and the décor, but that is being really, really nit-picky.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Yeh ok, but better restaurants for this price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Sorry to be a stickler, but I've been to many restaurants of this calibre in Sydney, and Est. just didn't compare.
Regarding the service, the staff tried, but it ended up making the atmosphere pretentious - Australian fine dining service is normally formal but understated which means you aren't intimidated - the staff here didn't achieve that balance.
Food: was fine, but nothing new or special
Overall: we had to giggle that with the pomp and ceremony the staff were doing, we saw 2 cockroaches wandering across the walls :P

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Definately one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Went to Quay restaurant one day, didn't think it could get any better, then went to Est, and it does. View aside of course, this restaurant had the best service I have come across anywhere, the individual synchronised placing of plates in front of each member of the table was faultless and impressive. The food was visually spectacular, and an absolute pleasure to eat, I didn't want it to end.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yammi food in friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Food, service and staff were absolutely fantastic. Exstrimely pleasant experience for my friends and me. We had numerouse dishes that gave us good impression of Chief's cooking skills. It's really a gem. I can recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Est also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Est, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.