We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing whisky bar, best in Sydney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baxter Inn

The Baxter Inn
156 Clarence Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing whisky bar, best in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

If you love good whisky, as I do, you MUST visit this bar when in Sydney. The bar team know their stuff and work quickly but still with personal attention in what I have heard is almost always busy. Often the is a queue to get in so try less busy times.

One of the largest collection of whiskies I have seen in a bar.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    26
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great speakeasy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

...a little tough to find if you don't know what you're looking for - but here's a hint: It's in the alley behind 'barber shop' :)

As a bourbon guy, I'm always nervous going to a 'whiskey heaven' as that usually means 99% irish whiskeys only...but Baxter was pleasantly surprising...definitely had a few decent bourbons as well - and our friends loved the mixed drinks. It does get a little crammed and loud, but I'd still consider this a 'mellow' hangout.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Whiskey Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you don't know where it is you may never find it. Definitely ensure you have clear directions into the correct alleyway and non-descript doorway. If you do manage to find this little gem, you'll find a wall of whiskey in this prohibition-themed paradise.

It's small, busy, somewhat pricey, but totally worth the experience and feeling it gives you. Worth the hunt to find it, and worth the cost for an excellent selection of your favourite juice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hipster paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This hard to find underground whiskey pub is awesome. Old Fashioned done properly and a stock of 300+ whiskeys. A bit expensive as expected but worth it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible cocktails”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The barman (they all have beards - I can't warn you who it was) made truly the worst cocktail I have ever ordered. He tasted it, made a disgusted face and then served it to me.
So bad I put pretzels in it in an attempt to improve it.

Avoid unless you want to be ignored while some barely legal girls get all the attention and you are served very slowly the worst drink of your life.

They only have 5 cocktails on their menu. Between us we tried 2. They both tasted disgusting

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baxter Inn also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Baxter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baxter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.