We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baxter Inn

The Baxter Inn
156 Clarence Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 5,105 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Scotland
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A brilliant bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

A great secret underground bar in the heart of the CBD. Biggest range of whisky I have ever seen. Drinks were also fairly priced. We turned up at 6.30pm on a Thursday night and had to queue for 15 mins so expect a wait as the bar only holds 130 people.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    42
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Great "Secret" Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Into SIngle Malts? You have to go. The trick is finding this great find. You may need to ask a local for directions. It's down a little alleyway in the basement. I go every time I'm in Sydney. And if your friends drink something else, don't worry. They have it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best drinks in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is where people go for a REAL drink made by passionate staff who care about the end result.

Great atmosphere, decor..etc but you get yourself here for the beverages!

Specialty and rare finds, top shelf galore! best cocktails in Sydney and lots of bourbon and ages whiskeys too. Fancy Gins and vodka's probably from a barrel lost deep in the sea!

Home to drink snobs such as myself who appreciate and respect good quality whilst listening to good old school tunes. Relax and Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice small bar tucked away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great choice of spirits, more men than women the night I went there. Place is a little cramped. Would hate to be trapped there when there's a fire. One door in and same door out.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A must, in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Friends told us about Baxter Inn. So glad we decided to go. The bar is hidden down an alley way, down stairs into a basement. It is worth the effort. Over 350 different types of scotches, tons of wine, beer and cocktail options. Bartenders are so friendly and informative. I had a glass of Chardonnay. Then The bartender convinced me to try one of their cocktails. Fresh apple juice and bourbon. So delicious. The locals are also willing to jump in and chat. Add The Baxter Inn to your list of places to visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baxter Inn also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Baxter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baxter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.