We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So this is why there's a queue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baxter Inn

The Baxter Inn
156 Clarence Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 5,171 restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So this is why there's a queue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The first time I went to Baxter Inn I couldn't get past the queue even though my wife was already inside so I decided to wait at Oporto. That was a mistake. I finally went to Baxter Inn last week and it's a haven for whiskey lovers! There are 50+ varieties and the bar tenders are experts at guiding you through their wide selection. I'll be back, but before the queues start..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    71
    13
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Platform 9 and 3 quarters ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Sydney has made a sport out of Bar Orienteering, finding this joint was also like trying to find Platform 9 and 3 quarters (see Shady Pines Saloon review) … but this time you’re a bit squiffy after too many drinks with Alice and the Mad Hatter.
Your looking for 152 – 156 Clarence Street – the sign that says “Sprinkler System for 152” on one side of the unlit alley and the other side “Sprinkler System for 156” is, I think, the only giveaway. Hang a right at the end of the alley, past the dumpsters, through the door at the bottom of the, OMG, grotty stairs and you have just walked into whiskey heaven.
Like Shady Pines, it’s completely unpretentious. You’re back in the prohibition, transported into another world –it’s very cool. The noise levels are perfect for still being able to have a conversation and if you drink your whiskey with water on the side they give it to you in a gorgeous crystal jug. I can’t remember if it was expensive or not, probably was, but who cares, it was a sweet end to a great night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Undoubtedly the coolest bar in Sydney! Great cocktails, great atmosphere. A little tricky to find bit that just makes it all the more worthwhile when you first open the door...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
362 reviews 362 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Secluded Sydney Stash - A Challenge to Any Melbourne Laneway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ten years ago I wouldnt have walked down the alleyway my friend directed me toward, let alone head down the grey concrete fire stairs into the darkness. Opening the door at the bottom of the stairs we were transported back into prohibition times with racks of whisky, a good douche-free crowd and excellent bar keepers. It was quite busy but not overly so (midnight on a Monday night) with people sat at the bar and at tables in the medium sized cellar type room. Camp at the bar and watch the boys do their stuff - a great night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great place, very cool and great nook away from standard CBD spots. Make sure you get there early though

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baxter Inn also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Baxter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baxter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.