We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The way tours should be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bailey's Sydney Private Tours

Bailey's Sydney Private Tours
PO Box 1122, Sydney, New South Wales 2100, Australia
+61 409 008 767
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 415 Activities in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours for People Who Don't Like Tours. Bailey's Sydney day tours stray out of the tourist environment and mindset, seeing Sydney and surrounds the way you want to, at the pace you desire, and with the people of your choosing. Every tour is customised to your needs and expectations; every tour is private (just yourself and the group with whom you're travelling). Every tour is responsive to your input and every photo in the galleries was taken by me at a location that can be included in a Bailey's Sydney tour
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“The way tours should be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were interested in rural and coastal areas south of Sydney, and Mr Bailey came through. We spent a fascinating day exploring some of NSW less traveled areas, with an interesting commentary and some unexpectedly interesting localities. Mr. Bailey's knowledge of his home state is amazing. I rarely book tours, but this type of adventure is more like a road trip with friends than your typical tour. If you want a tour tailored to you specific interests, this is the place to go.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Owner at Bailey's Sydney Private Tours, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
It's always heartening to hear someone who enjoyed a Bailey's Sydney tour saying they wouldn't usually go on one. Tours For People Who Don't Like Tours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well Worth Your Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We used Peter as a guide back in 2005 and he was exceptional, both in his knowledge of the "hidden" Sydney as well as his demeanor and enthusiasm for the city he grew up in. Peter tirelessly lead us around the Sydney Harbor to off-the-beaten-path coves and beaches that most tourists aren't even aware of. He also escorted us to quaint coffee cafes in the bohemian part of town and a phenomenal pho restaurant in the Vietnamese section of Sydney. I wholeheartedly recommend Peter Bailey as a guide for Sydney: Skip the tourist sites and get to know the "real" Sydney with Peter.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Owner at Bailey's Sydney Private Tours, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. And I'm pleased you enjoyed all aspects of my town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent overview of Sydney area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I spent a wonderful day visiting the northern beaches around Sydney with Bailey's. This is not something I normally do....I am someone who travels alone and rarely books tours. Bailey's has a similar point of view. I was truly visiting places that I would have never found on my own and very much enjoyed not only the locations but the personal service received. Can't wait to return to visit more!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Owner at Bailey's Sydney Private Tours, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you. It's always rewarding to tour with guests who anjoy my city and appreciate & understand what it is I do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A comprehensive tour of Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Anyone can see the typical sights in Sydney. If you want to see what's off the beaten path, particularly if you're into seeing the national parks, tucked-away beaches, and food choices galore, I recommend seeing Sydney with Peter Bailey.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Owner at Bailey's Sydney Private Tours, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you. We certainly covered a lot of ground in a short amount of time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“friendly and humorous unconventional introduction to Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had the opportunity to get several days of touring around Sydney and the suburbs with Peter Bailey.

Everything from body surfing at Bondi Beach to burgers with the works (beet root!) to ethnic cuisines to the art galleries to a driving tour along the coast south of Sydney. Mr Bailey is personable and entertaining! He was able to help us see and do things that we were interested in. A no-cliche not-canned touring approach!

Next time we are back down under we will be looking up Mr Bailey for another adventure.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Bailey's Sydney Private Tours, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Burgers with beetroot!!! Sometimes it's the small touches that leave the biggest impression
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailey's Sydney Private Tours also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bailey's Sydney Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bailey's Sydney Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.