We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful way to see Sydney while being entertained” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sydney Interactive Theatre

Sydney Interactive Theatre
The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
0433000295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 416 Activities in Sydney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Interactive theatre is part game, part theatre, part tour, part bar crawl unlike anything found in a theatre, sending the audience on an actual journey through the streets of the city. Small audience groups navigate the city streets of Sydney, piecing together clues of an absorbing and entertaining plot “The Messenger”.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful way to see Sydney while being entertained”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It was part theatre, part treasure hunt, part pub crawl - excellent fun!

The actors were all very friendly and we sneaked our way through The Rocks hiding from the "baddies" & looking for clues, to our eventual goal. On the way we visited a few pubs to make sure we didn't get thirsty!

We did this on a glorious spring day & it really couldn't have been nicer, we discovered some bits of the Rock I didn't know existed & the views of Sydney Harbour were just gorgeous.

A fun way to spend an afternoon - only one word of warning there is a fair bit of walking, hills & stairs, which could be a problem for some people - but all in all it was a fantastic fun way to see the city.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    26
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not traditional, so much better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I went to this back in March and I went along to this with my friends, and I have to say this was one of the best outings we've ever done. The word ''theatre'' can throw a lot of people off, I would know. But trust me, this is nothing like what you would expect. Meeting the first actor in beautiful circular quay and on such a lovely day was the kick start to our adventure. Soon we stopped off at our first pub, and were set about deciphering the clues as we enjoyed our first bevvie of the afternoon, the pub was really lovely too! I have to say the characters we met along the way were out of this world. All such talented people who you can really test or tease, and being the professionals they are incorporate everything you do and say, even what you're wearing!, into their scenes. Its completely improvisational and completely fun! We enjoyed the gorgeous sights of Sydney, the route is very well done as you see a whole new side of Sydney, there are plenty of chances for photos, and the walk isn't strenuous. If you get a chance, I would also advise you to stay around at the final pub after you find rose, as all the actors come and say g'day! (although it is sometimes hard to know who they are when they're out of costume!) All in all a tremendous afternoon with Sydney interactive theatre, well done. :D

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interactive theatre - finding Rose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great couple of hours. Good clues. Good actors. We laughed a lot. Enjoyed the pubs and grub. Lots of fun and a good walk around The Rocks and surrounds. Well worth it. Hope they do a new story so we can go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Great corporate event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great pre-dinner event to get the team moving and interacting in different ways. Everyone loved the idea of it and had a laugh about the characters that we met along the way.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Australia
1 review
“Something different, great way to have some fun and meet new people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We thought we would try this for something different. Great fun, with some stops along the way including some drinks and nibbles. Great team building session, well run, some great sights in our fabulous city. Actors are all fun and very convincing. Thoroughly recommend this as a team building afternoon or just for some fun with friends.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Interactive Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Sydney Interactive Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sydney Interactive Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.