We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Social - CLOSED

Oxford Social
135 Oxford Street | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
0293310557
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We found this hidden gem of a restaurant on trip advisor. The food was superb! We had the steak and the lamb for mains, and they were cooked exactly as we like it! The desserts were lovely too. The staff were ever so attentive, and provided excellent customer service, remaining professional yet chatty with the diners. It is a romantic setting, but would recommend for groups also. A definite must in Sydney!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    156
    34
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Oxford Social Is Going Places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The term 'hidden gem' was coined for the Oxford Social, a superb bistro anonymously tucked away on Oxford Street. Service is 'par excellence', attentive staff, willing, able and enthusiastic. We had three grazer dishes, and a bowl of nuts, these proving to be ample for the two of us. The scallops were gently seared and served with a slither of crispy bacon - delicious. The autumn salad was tasty and tangy, the pear and the feta matching well. The 'to die for' dish was the arancini balls, a melt-in-the-mouth array of flavours. For dessert, we shared a crème brûlée, which was creamy and richly textured. With three glasses of wine, the bill came to $86 without tip, which we thought outstanding value for money. I appreciated the waitress bringing the list of dessert wines by the glass when I ordered dessert. The ambience that everyone writes of was not too obvious, which I put down to Sydneysiders being out-of-town with school holidays. If possible, ask for the table by the window so you can people watch Oxford Street. Fully deserving of its high ranking on TA.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“M We ordered autumn salad , scallop as starter and followed by the chicken brest and fish as main courses. They are very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

My best meal in Sydney! The food is awesome.Absolutely worth every penny of it. cocktail is a bit pricy ~avg 15 ~


We ordered autumn salad , scallop as starter and followed by the chicken brest and fish as main courses. They are really good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dont leave Sydney without trying this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We literally hunted for this restaurant given the excellent trip advisor comments. And boy we were really satisfied! I strongly recommend the scallops for Entree! I had the beef fillet and it was amazing! My husband had the chicken and we both polished our plates!
Very cosy and romantic dining. Very different from the noisy atmosphere outside. Price was just right. The staff was very good in helping us make our choices. They really focused on the quality of the food! Will dine again when we come back to Sydney!=)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We decided to walk there in anticipation of working off some of the calories to come. We climbed several steep hills and I have to say it was well worth it.

We received a very warm welcome and although we were early we were seated promptly. I don't know why but I was expecting a pub-type establishment. I was pleasantly surprised to find a smallish, intimate restaurant with impeccable service.

The whiting fillets for entrée and chicken roulade for main were delicious. A great wine selection and Crème Brule for dessert really topped off a great night.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Social also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Social, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.