We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid quality, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tapavino Tapas Bar

Tapavino Tapas Bar
6-8 Bulletin Place, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“solid quality, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our office lunch group, a mix of professional and support staff, discovered Tapavino a few months ago and it has become a favourite. We usually have the house wine, which is reliable and drinkable, at the right price. Maybe a Spanish beer as well... The wine list is extensive and for Sydney, OK in price.
The tapas are delicious, especially the slow-cooked lamb. Patatas are good, if they haven't run out. We share the dishes and we haven't found anything we wouldn't order again. The quality has been consistent over four visits. It is good not to over-order. If your first round doesn't fill the need, order another dish or two. The atmosphere is cosy, in an old warehouse, two levels, lots of glowing woodwork with menus and wines chalked on the walls. The Rocks meets old Madrid. The satff are friendly and helpful. We think it is good value, usually costing no more than other supposedly cheaper restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    38
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fab wine list but don't miss out on the sherries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great choice of wines at a price but the sheer choice of sherry is admirable. Very nice food, I really enjoyed the Madrid stew and I'm told the tuna was fantastic. We ended the evening with a hugely expensive 100 year old Pedro Ximenez - but one glass was more than enough for the 3 of us. Go, push the boat out and indulge yourselves!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Very good - not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I went there with a group of friends who are big Spanish food and wine fans. The list of wines is formidable, if a little expensive. I guess rents in Sydney CBD mean that wine is always going to be heavily marked up. We had a snapping fresh bottle of Manzanilla, a great Amontillado and a couple of very good bottles of red and a couple of Spanish beers each (yes, I caught a taxi afterwards!). The food was varied, imaginative and well prepared. We ate our fill, including cheese, and, with a tip, the whole enjoyable experience came to $100 per head. We felt that for a good night out in Sydney CDB at an interesting place, that wasn't an outrageous amount.
The service for our table was very good. The place was packed on a Friday night and the vibe is good. You will need to book. My favourite Spanish restaurant is Mo Vida in Melbourne. This is not quite as good - but it is good just the same.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Tapavino Tapas Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This restaurant is next door to the Marriott at Circular Quay (in an alley). The atmosphere would be nice if it wasn't so small and busy when we were there. The problem that I have with a place like this is that the music is turned up so everyone raises their voices to talk over it and all the other people who are talking loud and it begins to sound like a chicken coop. The food was good and actually each portion was quite large. The service was tolerable especially with it being so busy. If I were to eat there again, I would try to sit outside or possibly upstairs where it might be a bit quieter and maybe less crowded. The tables are jammed into the main room so that you can hardly squeeze between them. We were there during Vivid when the streets were very busy every night, so that was part of the craziness in the restaurant. As busy as it was, it's obviously a favorite among the locals. I might eat there again when it's less busy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Smallish bar with good sherries and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Bar staff were extremely polite and offered lots of suggestions for sherry tasting to go with our food. Small slightly crapped space but get there before 8pm and you can get seated within 40mins. Food was amazing - especially the chorizo and salsa hotpot, braised lamb shoulder and definitely leave space for the chocolate terrine with salt flakes and olive oil (the bar staff gave us a sherry to match!). An awesome night out - don't bother with the wines - go straight to the sherries!!!!! We sat at the bar and as a result the bar staff made more of an effort with the sherry tasting - highly recommended. Be warned though, the wait staff are generally very very slow and easily overwhelmed. So plan to be around for a bit (& wait quite a while before being served). A little bit expensive but the quality of the sherries and food make it worthwhile. If only they improve the wait service.....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapavino Tapas Bar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Tapavino Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapavino Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.