We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ananas Bar & Brasserie

Ananas Bar & Brasserie
18 Argyle Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
02 9259 5668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #769 of 5,319 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: French, Bar, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ananas Bar and Brasserie is set to bring a touch of shimmering French Mediterranean glamour to The Rocks. Open for lunch, dinner and late-night suppers, Ananas serves up a contemporary twist on the best classic French Mediterranean food, cocktails, wine and Champagne under Chef Paul McGrath.
Sydney
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Outstanding design, beautiful decor, good music, polished service staff in dining room, food can be great. Had fantastic experience first visit in party of 4. Everything had the Wow factor. Delicious, perfectly executed meals. Next visit 4 weeks later and cocktails had to be remixed twice in bar; less attentive table service and 3 of 4 meals either sent back or simply very disappointing. A whole fish dish was an overcooked, baked fish on a plate. That was it. Rib eye for two was raw and swimming in own juices (not rested properly). Still trying to get my party to give it another try, because when they got it right it was as good as I have had. I would still recommend Ananas!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    56
    29
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A dining experience not just a meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I dined recently with 4 others. It was a very busy night and yet the service was prompt professional and all combined with some personality and a laugh. We all had three courses and they were ALL yummy. The pate was delicious, so too the chicken and when the desserts arrived they were a feast for the eyes as well as tasting delightful. The decor was a little confused and I did agree with another reviewer that the pineapple were a little over the top, and I would not have thought very French. This was only minor though because the overall ambience was very relaxing and warm. Wines were expensive. No mid price range options which was a little disappointing. I would recommend a visit here and will go back with my husband some time, it would be a nice couples venue I feel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very poor service & overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Extremely disappointed. Interior decor is great but thats where it ends. Bonny was rude taking the booking. 9pm booking, finally seated at 9.45pm & hard to get a drink while waiting. Entrees arrived after 10.30pm. Offered dried up bread while waiting: "what are the different breads?" Answer "light or dark & no we don't have any butter for the bread" (one small dish of balsamic vinegar instead). Had run out of a few dishes, mixed up the orders, wait staff kept interrupting us mid-sentence, served the gents before the ladies. The food was ok but the side dishes are awful & side dish portions very small. The truffle potato mash was really runny.
Not good enough for >$300 per person. World class prices with back water service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“French cuisine in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Ananas is a nice French cuisine restaurant in The Rocks aera of Sydney. We had dinner there and the quality of the food is very good. The service was great as well and the interior of the restaurant is nice (and a little tacky with all the pineapples).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney NSW
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I was surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife's workmates decided on a get together and chose Ananas. I had been to other venues nearby and feared the worse.

I was wrong. It had buzz. It was slick and sophisticated. The meals were excellent. The wine menu good. The staff were helpful, attentive but not pushy

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananas Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Ananas Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ananas Bar & Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.