We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Great. Service started poor, ended well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ananas Bar & Brasserie

Ananas Bar & Brasserie
18 Argyle Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
02 9259 5668
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #764 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: French, Bar, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ananas Bar and Brasserie is set to bring a touch of shimmering French Mediterranean glamour to The Rocks. Open for lunch, dinner and late-night suppers, Ananas serves up a contemporary twist on the best classic French Mediterranean food, cocktails, wine and Champagne under Chef Paul McGrath.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food Great. Service started poor, ended well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Ate here our last night in Sydney. Everyone enjoyed their meal. My steak was seasoned and cooked excellent as was my two son's. My wife's food was excellent as well. One of the better meals we ate in Sydney.

Only issue (and i'm not reducing the rating because of this after all it is a French restaurant and the attitude was almost expected), is the waiter initially treated us with deference when we first sat down. We arrived early (around 5:30pm) after a long day on a tour of the Blue Mountains. We did not go back to our hotel and change so we did look a little ragged and out of place considering the cliental in the restaurant. Once we ordered and the waiter realized our kids are well behaved and ordered meals NOT from the kids menu AND after he almost made a mistake with our bottle of wine, all was well.

It was a great meal and I highly recommend this restaurant as a great night out. Next time I'll come later with just my wife.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    56
    29
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Fabulous French restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went to Ananas last night and absolutely loved every minute of it, apart from the very loud music in the bar whilst we were waiting, but it is a bar, after all! The decor in the restaurant is just fabulously sumptuous with wonderful detail all over. The service was impeccable and our waiter was extremely attentive. I ate the Lobster bisque which was fantastic and then the scallops with black pudding which was perfect!
All the food and wine that we ate was faultless and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. We will definitely be back, sooner rather than later.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chic French with a twist. You will love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Took my Hubby Peter for a surprise Birthday dinner. Tucked away in the heart of 'The Rocks' Sydney. A modern yet authentic French feel with an artistic design. The food was to die for and the service superb. Ananas means pineapple in French you must try the dessert called 'ananas four ways' you will not be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Stylish French at an affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My Wife and I had a really great experience at this Restaurant last night.This place has miles of style with wonderful bar area where we enjoyed at nice Mai Tai and an Absolutely Ananas which my Wife loved.The Staff here are Pro's and serve with a smile which has been missing from many of Sydney's trendier restaurants.They bring around a good selection of warm breads which was great.We kicked off with half a doz Sydney Rock and Pacific oysters and we were not Disappointed - they were very fresh and tasty ! For mains my Wife had the Flounder - I am not normally a huge fish fan but this was as close to perfect as you would find.I opted for the Minute steak with foie gras and frites - I thought I was back in Paris - Dam good.We washed all of the above down with a bottle of burgundy - well priced at just under $60.Superb Restaurant

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Been here 5 times - might have to think again?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I love Ananas - since it has opened its doors I've always enjoyed taking clients here. A couple of days ago - with a party of 4 in tow, it was a total disappointment. Not because of the food (great) or the decor (elegant) or the ambience (relaxed and refined) but because of the service. Our slightly moustached French waiter was surly (and probably Parisian!) - he waited our table as if it were a pain, not a pleasure. We're a bunch of nice people - impeccably polite and used to treating waiting staff with respect and good humour. But he kept making snide remarks and rebutted one of our French speaking clients with a 'sorry I can't understand you' put-down every time he tried to converse or order from the menu in French. No need for that nonsense in Sydney. Wine glasses were empty to the point we had to ASK them to be refilled (like, the ENTIRE table without wine) and he insisted our after dinner digestive had to be bought 'by the bottle only'. (What, for a PORT for 3 people?). I had to correct him 3 times. I thought it was just me, but my dining companions kept asking - "does he have a problem?". Apparently yes, he did. Disappointing - Sydney has too much choice for diners to put up with this sort of surly rubbish from cranky waiting staff. Show some empathy and respect for your paying guests please - it will make or break your restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananas Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Ananas Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ananas Bar & Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.