We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney to your Saves list
Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney
8 Defries Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Muswellbrook, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights & paid $288 which was a bargain for a 1 bedroom apartment! But then parking was an extra $25 per night which is a bit steep if you ask me as you are out of the main part of the city. I'll start with a few minor negatives.. The car park leaked badly (it rained all weekend) & almost flooded the entrance to the elevator to get to our buliding. Also, there is no undercovers between our building & reception so we had to walk in the rain to get our parking ticket validated. But besides that it was modern, new & clean. Would be handy if you had an early flight from sydney airport. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sarah C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for your review. At Meriton Zetland we do have a lot of great specials that come on line time to time. If your a barging hunter, you are at the right Meriton.
Unfortunately due to all that rain last week we did have a lot of leaks in the car park which we are in the process of fixing now that everything has dried out. With that much volume of water it was hard to control.
Definitely a great place to stay if you had an early flight.

Kind regards,

Belinda L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    274
    51
    13
    12
See reviews for
242
222
66
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights paid $750 NZ including car parking. First impression near new looked good, staff tell you what you have and leave it you to go and find out where it is - this has a lot of buildings. Apartment was very clean but that is where it stopped. No rubbish removed at all, apparently we had to take our own rubbish and put it down the rubbish chute, bathrooms never cleaned at all during our 3 days there so what is on the loo stayed on the loo. Beds they did not even make them they just yanked the covers up. Signs you must leave kitchen done or you will charged cleaning, we paid more for this per night than we did for the Stamford Plaza at the Airport and yet this one was really bad. Staff were polite in lifts etc but polite staff does not make up for the upkept unserviced dirty room that you have to reside in. Would only recommend to someone staying one night at least then you would have a clean room

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Fiona M,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland and thank you for your review. The package that you booked your accommodation under unfortunately did not have a full service as it was only a three night stay. You did receive a light service daily which is just the bed made and a tidy up. I do apologise if there was some confusing at the time of booking. If you choose to stay with us again you can request a full service if required.

Kind regards,

Belinda L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is an excellent hotel that offers brilliant value for money. The studio apartment we stayed in for three nights was immaculate, with a great kitchen, washer+dryer, an ample bathroom, and an excellent little living space. It was a wonderful place to retreat to after a long day out seeing sights in Sydney.

There is a large Coles about a 10-15 minute walk from hotel, which is great for stocking up the apartment's refrigerator. The neighbourhood is quiet, clean, and all very new. The hotel is about a 15-20 min walk from the nearest train station, which isn't great when it's raining or you have a lot of luggage.

Plus, our 2 year old loved the warm pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear AlpineExteter,

"Great Value for Money" Thank you for such a great review. It is always good to read comments such as yours. We are proud of our property here in Zetland and with comments like yours we hope many more people will choose to stay with us.
It is a wonderful little retreat after a long day of shopping. We hope to seen you again soon.

Kind regards,

Belinda L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the night before catching a flight out with 4 girls, 2 bed apartment was fab very new and clean easy to find and only 10 mins to the airport normally I stay closer buts the hotel rooms are normally pokey and expensive, we caught a cab to surry hills for dinner which was only about $10-$15. The only thing I would say is the initial booking I made was for $180 with free parking as they said the parking was free until the end of june, good price for 4, they then had a sale on about 3 weeks before we were due to stay for $117 which they were happy to change my booking to however they said I had to pay $25 for parking even though the hotel website clearly says its free parking until that date, not a massive deal as it was still less but a little misleading. I've stayed at meriton apartments many many times and I'm always wrapped with them over hotel rooms.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear monsgrantmorg,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments and thank you for your review. Yes, Zetland is a "great location for the airport" nice and close. Many guests choose to stay with us for a stopover before their flight the next day.
As for your comments about the free parking unfortunately that finished on the 13th May 2013. If you were misled, apologies for that.
We hope to see you really soon.

Kind regards,

Belinda L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

stayed here a week ago for a nite as we need to catch up 7 am train to domestic airport sidney. Took train from Central station, airport line, stop at Green Square station and took east way out..walk straight and took right side area, roughly 25 minutes to the high rise apartment, and found Meriton. Its the new area, zetland, where a lot of new apartments and many office workers stays here. Our room in N building, 3rd floor,its brand spanking new building, beautifully appointed room, branded amenities, very very clean toilet, comfy bed, fully equipped kitchen with fridge, microwave as well. Although the room just by the big road side, it is noise isolated and had a great sleep. Took 21 aud taxi ride early 5.30am, only 15 minutes arrived in domestic airport. Highly recommended..stress free airport early morning flight based, top quality!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear sandy-lnhl,

"The perfect address" What a great review. Thank you.
Zetland is a great place to stay if you are looking for that quick stop over before traveling on to another destination. Only 15minutes to the airport it takes the stress out of becoming stuck in peak time city traffic.
We hope to see you back really soon.

Kind regards,

Belinda L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great during the week, however it seems to be the weekend hotel of choice of local party hoons.
They arrived in carloads with subwoffers pumping loud music at all hours or friday and saturday night.

Should have realized what I was in for when I witnessed 3 x guys unloading multiple slabs of beer from the elevator.

Yes, meriton has a "no party" policy, however it doesnt work....

In addition there is nowhere to buy food close by.. so, if your arriving late night nd you dont have a car, prepare to stay hungry!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear MUKHAIRCARE,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland and thank you for your review.
Yes we do have a lot of young people coming and going from our apartments but I can assure you we do take the party policy very serious. We cannot stop guest from enjoying themselves but we do monitor these apartment and take the necessary action if they are disturbing other guests.
Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Belinda L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Brand new Serviced apartment. Never stayed in a serviced apt before. Now I am serviced apt convert. We stayed in a three (3) bedroom apartment which was just about right for our family of 5.The balcony was one of the best and specious. A/C wasn't working but it was taken care of promptly. Sydney is very expensive city for good hotel if you want to stay close to city. Meriton at Zetland was about 10 mins from downtown and you cant beat the price. Front was nice enough to give us the room earlier as we were tired of driving from Melbourne. Overall great experience and I will stay at Meriton every time I will get a chance as long as I get the same service and amenities and price of course.

Room Tip: Ask for double glazed window so it is soundproof from outside free way noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Mohamed_Rashid,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland. It is great to hear that you have converted to staying in serviced apartments. They are spacious and affordable!
We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Belinda L
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney

Address: 8 Defries Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland is perfect for both the leisure and business traveller alike. With a plethora options available only moments from your doorstep there's no better place to stay. Surrounded by tow of Sydney's finest golf courses, the Sydney Cricket Ground, the Sydney Football Stadium and the largest racecourse in NSW- Randwick Racecourse. A short stroll will lead you to the world famous Centennial Park perfect for a morning walk/run, or just take some time out to be encapsulated by its beautiful surround. For all your entertainment needs, the Entertainment Quarter has cinemas, restaurants, shopping and bards or a quick car ride will have you soaking up the sunshine at nearby beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Meriton so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.