We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real fake buffet!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro, Maloney's Hotel

Bistro, Maloney's Hotel
81 Goulburn Street | Cnr Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #919 of 5,231 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A real fake buffet!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Been walking around Sydney looking around for a dinner place, we passed by Maloney's Hotel and saw a sign about their Tuesday night "buffet" for $7.95, so we decided to try it. First you got to pay at the bar for the "buffet", but you are required to buy a beverage first before you can avail. So we got our sodas and then proceeded to the "buffet" table. I'm using the word "buffet" very loosely because when you say "buffet" it typically means All-you-can-eat, but it was not the case here. You can only fill up your plate once, and they have a waiter to give you only a small portion of their more expensive dishes like meats. It did not say anything on their sign about a one-plated buffet and the staff did not even inform us of this, we only found out from the waiter at the end of the table (when our plate was already filled with appetizers and rice!). It was already too late to pile up on the good stuff. It was very misleading especially for tourists like us. The food was not even exceptional. It was really a big disappointment for i thought Sydney was free from these kinds of superficial deception. I felt very cheated. I would not recommend this place for the fraud that they are!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful Pub Grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

For a good value pub meal you can't go wrong with Maloney's.
It hits a spot!
I recommend the Chicken Schnitzel with Bernaisse sauce and beer battered chips.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macleay Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you go on a Tuesday night they do a help yourself special of roast, chicken, pasta and a variety of salads

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food for a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I visited Maloney's with a large group of friends a few times and was pleasantly surprised. We were staying at the ibis World Square and wanted somewhere close to the hotel were we could all meet and catch up between outings. The food was great and reasonably priced and the beer was delicious (they had a great selection).

One minor problem we had was on the Sunday night we were having a few casual drinks (about 9:45pm) and conversation, when they turned the lights off and cranked the music right up. I didn't do much for the atmosphere of the pub and was a bit disappointing (seriously, 9:45 on a Sunday night?).

I'll definitely return though if we are ever close by!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Ports, Good Food, Good Price. Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed in Sydney CBD for 4 nights. Looking for somewhere to eat that was not Asian/Thai, or where a steak can cost you $40-50, just good Aussie type tucker, not too expensive. Very hard to find. Finally found it at Maloney's Hotel the atmosphere, the food was really great, good size meals and not expensive. The service was very good as well. Mid week it was not overcrowded or too noisy just a really nice relaxed atmosphere with good food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro, Maloney's Hotel also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bistro, Maloney's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro, Maloney's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.