We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the banquet. Great variety and taste.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Lane

China Lane
2 Angel Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9231 3939
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 5,162 restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $9 - $47
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Get the banquet. Great variety and taste.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Party of four seated in the lane outside. Without the birdcages hanging from the laneway ambience quite sterile with many passers by walking through the lane. Didn't go inside but the ambience might be better there. As to the food we got the $59 banquet. Great variety, taste and value. This is Asian fine dining with quality ingredients. You're full but not sickly full by the end. Salt and pepper cuttlefish and sticky pork belly were the standouts. Great wine list but overpriced having regard to the retail value of a lot of the wine. I understand 2x mark up but some at 3x. Would go back but would like to try inside and the other banquet choices. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    52
    43
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Statesboro, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Morsels of Tastiness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A dreary cold almost winter night, the kind you want to stay in for and we are off to China Lane for dinner. I am only in Sydney for a couple of days and this was the big farewell, again. The service was so very pleasant, not gushy or smarmy, just nice. The ambience also nice, not too noisy and appropriately decorated. But when it comes to the menu, that is when you are so glad that you made the effort on this cold night! It is hard to decide what not to choose. The shredded pork on Bao was so delicious I find myself drooling as I type this. The lobster wonton - a special that day were so good we ordered another lot instantly! Just go and try - we did not have the tasting menu as it did not include the duck pancakes and for me they were a must - so we made our own tasting menu. Loved it would go back in a skinny minute if it was not halfway around the world. BTW they will tailor the size of the dishes for your party, so our table of 3 we all got even shares, no having to squabble over the last wonton. I must also say the lane way where you walk to get to this place is one of the loveliest outdoor sculptures in Sydney, birdcages with forgotten birdsongs, quirky and nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A real find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

China Lane is a quirky but glitzy modern "Asian Fusion" restaurant in the heart of Sydney's bustling CBD. It is nestled in the quiet passage of Angel Place. As you approach from George Street you will see the many bird cages hanging over the lane outside the restaurant and be serenaded by the sounds of Sydney's erstwhile indigenous birds. Fantastic! And you haven't got to the restaurant, yet!
They have a raft of tables outside in the quiet lane, also affording a tiny glimpse of busy George Street - great when it's warm. Inside, the subdued lighting creates instant atmosphere and the buzz is instant.
The food is fabulous! A brave mix of flavours encompassing a wealth of Asian cuisine. They are clever, too, with the way the food is served, a sort of tapas approach, each dish being delivered on a serving plate to share. Particular favourites are the Wagyu dish and the Black Sticky Rice.
Finally, the staff are great! Attentive, professional, informed and really friendly!
It's an occasion every time you go!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Taste Sensation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Dining with friends before the opera was a delight at this out of the way asian dining. The pork belly was the best we have ever tasted. Very informative staff regarding the menu making it a very memorable meal. Will be certain to dine here again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Simply Superb!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Recommended by a business associate, we turned up without a booking and even though the rrstauarnt were full all the staff greeted us and made us feel welcome (make a pleasant change form reaction you can receive when you 'don't have a reservation' - because we are so exclusive type of restaurant). A short wait at the bar and we were escorted to our table. Our waiter was fabulous, knowledgable and helpful - you can ask for half size starters so you can sample different dishes! On special were lobster dumpings - unbelievable!!! Made the visit worthwhile by themselves. The prawn san choy bou was delicious and the crispy chicken with ginger and lemon sause was fantastic. A beautiful thin sauce that complemented the meat perfectly. An extensive wine list, great service, highly recommended. We have a reasonable base to make a comparison - we dine out a bit, and have eaten in some fantastic restaurants in Sydney as well as overseas... and China Lane is right up there amongst the best!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Lane also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to China Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.