We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My local cinema” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hayden Orpheum Picture Palace

Hayden Orpheum Picture Palace
380 Military Rd | Cremorne, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
+61 2 9908 4344
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 239 Attractions in Sydney
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“My local cinema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I'm so lucky to have the Orpheum cinema at Cremorne as my local "picture palace". There are six screens, all decorated differently in art deco style. Cinema 5 has an organ that is played on some weekends. The seats are generally comfortable, although some cinemas have larger seats than others and all are licensed, so if you want to you can take your drinks in with you. I recommend buying your munchies across the road at IGA though to save a bit of money because the cinema tix are quite expensive. But there are good savings if you buy a cinema savers book. They show all major releases, plus many classics, have movie/luncheons and often bring in interesting people (directors, etc.) to give talks about their work.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    28
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Art deco gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

a classy old style movie theatre. if you are lucky on a saturday night opening they still use the organ with the man coming out of the stage with tails. Something that I think must be one of the last anywhere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Romantic movie night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Old style cinemas, really quaint. Plenty of eateries nearby for pre/post movie. Parking behind the cinema

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Art Deco - Devine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Well I think it's Art Deco. Anyhow the decor is beautiful. In the main theatre The Orpheum still has an organist playing prior to the movie - fun.

Worth buying bulk tickets - which saves a few dollars.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored period theatre within short distance to CBD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my local movie theatre when I lived around the corner and I always enjoyed the time before the movie starts when I could admire the beautifully restored interior of the theatre. Classic Art-Deco 1930's styling. Certainly a unique movie going experience for Sydney-Siders. You won't get these surroundings at a Hoyts or Greater Union. Fabulous atmosphere. Their choc-tops are great too.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hayden Orpheum Picture Palace also viewed

 

Been to Hayden Orpheum Picture Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hayden Orpheum Picture Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.