We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a tourist area. You pay for it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Searock Grill

Searock Grill
Shop 15 | 5 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
+61 2 9252 0777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #736 of 5,302 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $18 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Breathtaking views over glimmering Sydney Harbour coupled with the soft sea breeze perfectly compliment the fresh seafood and a delicious and innovative contemporary Australian menu at Searock Grill. Our high standards in the kitchen are mirrored by our service team who always strive to make your experience memorable. Whether it’s a lazy lunch, romantic dinner or a glamorous private function, Searock Grill will look after all your dining needs and create an enjoyable and memorable experience. Enjoy dining in a relaxing and elegant restaurant setting that the Harbour side offers, and the delicious freshest seafood Circular Quay has to offer.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“It is a tourist area. You pay for it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Food was not bad. Service staff was friendly and attentive.
You pay for the location and the view. This means you are paying a little bit more for the same food and service elsewhere in the city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    86
    37
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Searock Grill has great Harbour view...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We ate at the Searock Grill before seeing a show at the Opera House Concert Hall. The view has to be one of the best in the world. The food is good, the decor is average, the service is good and the price is reasonable for where we were. We weren't planning a night at a restaurant - we really wanted to grab a nice dinner, quickly and efficiently - and this restaurant catered for that. There are many others along the Quay area like this one, but we were attracted to the specials and the presentation given to us by the Waitress at the entrance - she sold it to us and we were impressed.
I would recommend this restaurant if you are planning a night out elsewhere around the Quay - like the Opera House. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

After a long walk around the Opera Hous, we went looking for a restaurant where we could get some good food along with a good view. We found Searock.

It was a fairly busy night but they managed to seat us pretty quickly. The service was very well timed and the waiters were very helpful and attentive. I didn't feel any snobbery which is always a plus for me. For me, it was also a child friendly restaurant with high chairs available.

I had a steak which costed $45 and my wife had a curry which tasted also very lovely. The food was served pretty quickly which surprised me based on the number of tourists around for Vivd Sydney.

Overall, no criticism with everything to my liking and would go back again. The onto was was that food were slightly pricey but to be expected for the view and location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a most disappointing birthday celebration at Searock Grill, not help to some extent by inclement weather which prevented us sitting outside as intended. Inside, the restaurant was pretty average as well as the service. The most disappointing aspect was the poor quality of the food- we all had items from the meat menu.It was outrageously expensive for what we got, including $12.50 for 1 L bottles of sparkling mineral water.The wine was the only positive impression we gained.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great preshow dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Two adults and a seven year old had an excellent meal here. Service was perfectly timed for our young diner, very attentive but not intrusive. Both adults chose from the pre-show set menu which was delicious, the pork and salad was just right. This is not a cheap eat but given the location was good value - we got to see the Vivid light show as we ate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Searock Grill also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Searock Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Searock Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.