We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thi food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice I Am

Spice I Am
300 Victoria Street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #626 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Thi food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This Thi restaurant is well decorated spaceous and convwnient location on Victoria rd. Food is well cooked and nicely presented. Tasts great. The only thing is the staff not wellcoming even no smile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We had our meal on a cool windy evening to find the large front windows were open making it very cold inside. When we asked for them to close the windows they refused saying they don't do that but had turned the heating on. It took half an hour for the heating to slightly warm, so we weren't happy about that. The entree's were fine (beef strips & Bour Tod). The best dish was the massaman curry, tender beef and tasty curry. Unfortunately the Pad Thai was overly sweet. Our complaints were not dealt with satisfactorily but did manage to get a slight discount. We wouldn't eat there again as they did not seem willing to address any of our issues, very strange approach to customer satisfaction.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Annoying staff spoilt mood of party!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had our annual Christmas party there last night. The food was Ok and was in plentiful quantity. The problem was at towards the end of the evening several of us wanted coffee and their coffee machine was shut down or not working or something. No matter, we though , there is a take away coffee place next door. Seeing the party was still going, several coffees were bought and brought back to the restaurant. We were then told we couldn't drink the coffee!

Now, I understand that normally a restaurant would not alloy bringing coffee in, because they want to sell their own, but in this case they had no coffee to sell! Further as I held my coffee in my hand an annoying little waitress kept following me around watching me to see if I was drinking it and saying repeatedly "..cannot drink coffee.... cannot drink coffee..." like a robot.

This totally spoilt the mood of the party, and was not in the spirit of Christmas. Either they sell their own coffee or let people drink their own, not act like total idiots when their is absolutely no reason for them to. If this is the attitude of their staff we will not be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Thai food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Food was great, nice environs. Just the right amount of spiciness. Prices were reasonable (at least given Sydney standards).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic food with real heat and authentic flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place is a must for anyone wanting some really authentic tasting Thai. I love many other places but nothing comes close to Spice I am for their individual flavours, traditional ingredients and actually spicy food. My wife and I love here because when they say hot. They mean HOT!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice I Am also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Spice I Am? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice I Am, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.