We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kazbah at Balmain - disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kazbah - Darling Harbour

Kazbah - Darling Harbour
Shop 284, The Promenade, Harbourside Shopping Centre | Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2000, Australia
+61 2 9555 7067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,723 of 5,306 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $3 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Kazbah Darling Harbour is the second edition of the Kazbah Group chain of restaurants. The other Kazbah venues are located at Balmain and Top Ryde. Kazbahs little sister cafes Mezbah are located at the Adina hotel in Sydney Central and Lime Street. Kazbah is Sydney's leader in Middle Eastern cuisine. Established since 1998 by chef and owner Zahi Azzi, Kazbah has been delivering Sydneysiders with the most innovative and flavoursome blend of the old and new - Levantine and Modern Australian food in authentic, stylish surrounds. Be transported to Morocco, Iran, Lebanon, Israel, Syria and Turkey with a French/Mediterranean flare. Kazbah puts the hospitality back into the hospitality industry.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Kazbah at Balmain - disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went here on a Thursday night and the place wasn’t very busy. Despite the low number of customers, service was very slow (we arrived at 7.30 pm, entrees were slow but mains didn’t arrive until 8.50pm) and we were dismayed that the group that arrived after us we served first and had almost finished their meals by the time our main arrived. The portions are very small and the prices are high for what you get. I especially think $6 for a very small bowl of couscous is a bit rich. The food was tasty but I don’t believe this restaurant offers value for money and I probably wouldn’t bother going again. All in all, it was a fairly average experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Went to Kazbah with a couple of friends, tried hummus,sheesh kebab and the lamb tangine which was simply perfect..! No issues with the food what so ever.. Staff was really friendly.. Would go back there anytime!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Kazbah at Top Ryde review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A friend and i visited Kazbah at Top Ryde City Shopping Centre for dinner recently. This particular Kazbah is not coming up as an option to review under search, hence writing this under Kazbah, Harbourside Shopping Centre where i have never been to.
We were in a bit of a rush to get to the Event cinema next door and told the waiter that, and they obliged with quickly prepared meals. These were delicious, one of them being Lamb Tagine with couscous.
The decor and ambience was nice enough, and luckily that night it was not crowded. Parking in the shopping complex is no problem specially after 6pm when it is free.
Worth a visit again when i am next in that area, to try different dishes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Rich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just me myself and I sitting at a little table out front enjoying the view. Had the beef cheeks, very rich, couldnt believe how full I felt and didnt touch the cous cous which i find a little bland. My husband is middle eastern so I wanted to try something I had not had. Staff are very polite and really enjoyed the hibiscus tea to finish which I sipped over an hour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Breakfast, awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Had breakfast here with my wife on Sunday. Very impressed with the quality of the food and great to find something different to the standard breakfast. I had the lamb tagine, served with caramelised onions, fetta, soft poached eggs and Turkish bread. My wife had cous cous, served bercher muesli style with warm cardamom milk. Couldn't fault either dish. Full of so many great flavours. Would love to go back for dinner next time we are in Darling Harbour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazbah - Darling Harbour also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Kazbah - Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kazbah - Darling Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.