We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal I've ever had.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lantern on Riley

Red Lantern on Riley
60 Riley Street | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2010, Australia
+61 96984355
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 5,105 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $23 - $31
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Set within a designer space reminiscent of French Colonial Vietnam, Red Lantern on Riley mixes the nostalgia of Indochine with the personal quirkiness of the Nguyen family. The restaurant is owned and operated by chefs Luke Nguyen and Mark Jensen, and Luke's sister Pauline Nguyen. With a focus on shared dishes, an evening at Red Lantern on Riley is an experience best enjoyed with friends and family.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best meal I've ever had.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything about red lantern lived up to expectations. We got the delicious dalat tasting menu and it blew our minds. There were so many taste sensations to experience. The service was impeccable and the cocktail list was amazing. Just go.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    45
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“No disappointments here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

In my hometown of Sydney for two weeks and the choices for a good dining experience are endless. Went to 'Red Lantern' on Riley Street today and enjoyed it thoroughly. The restaurant wasnt packed probaby due to lots of people being out of town on holidays.

The food was great, service was good and we had a thoroughly enjoyable dining experience. My sister and I are keen cooks and we are both keen to try and replicate some of the dishes that we enjoyed.

Highly recommended

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verrierdale
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've waited a long time to finally find my way to the Red Lantern. I've seen the restaurant featured in television programs and it was on my list when visiting Sydney. My husband and I met with friends. The restaurant was so noisy we could barely hear each other talk. It was a hot night and very stuffy. The food was not up to my expectations. In fact I thought it was good but not great.. Sadly I have to say I would not go back to the Red Lantern given the choice of restaurants available in Sydney. I must add that the staff were lovely and friendly and the service good. We also picked up a $98 parking ticket, The parking is a nightmare.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good for a "special" meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If I could rate this as "four and a half" then I would. Down at the bottom, Darlinghurst, end of Riley Street, the interior fit out, as noted by other reviewers, is a very pleasant recreation of a Vietnamese colonial house. We had the $71 per-head tasting menu for dinner, plus an excellent bottle of wine (at $77), plus one dessert to share. This all came out at $250 for two (we had mineral water as well) - not crazy, but not everyday dining.
In our tasting menu, we had plenty to eat, plenty of variety, and plenty of jump-in-the-mouth Vietnamese flavours. We found the young, enthusiastic, friendly and knowledgeable front of house staff (multiple waiters, waitresses and the sommellier) very engaging and not at all stuffy.
Why not rate this five out of five? Well, the dessert was not "bad", but was not distinguished, and the restaurant's obvious success and popularity means you get the irritating fixed sitting system. For food this interesting and of this quality, I'll put up with the minor irritation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Vietnam and Sydney collide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Recently had dinner at this wonderful resturant. Sitting in a booth felt like sitting in a Vietnamese home (albiet an upmarket one). Somehow they create this fantastic intimacy which is more than matched by sensational food and happy friendly staff. The highlight - pork fairy floss - never had anything like it - the texture of fairy floss - fine, melt in your mouth strands - with the taste of pork - YUM can't recommend highly enough

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lantern on Riley also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Red Lantern on Riley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lantern on Riley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.