We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The aromas hit you the moment you walk in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lat-Dior African Eatery

Lat-Dior African Eatery
150 Enmore Road, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
02 9557 4467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,185 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The aromas hit you the moment you walk in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

If you like your food with plenty of natural flavour when cooked in natural spices - try this place. The meats were beautifully cooked and tender, the vegetables tasty and the service attentive but not in your face.

One of our party had food allergies and it was no trouble to find plenty on the menu that suited (and till tasted great). The chef even came out to make recommendations.

We'll be back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Banquet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A group of four visited last night. First visit . We were informed we would get a taste of
" everything " if we had the Banquet The entree's were good however the main courses were disappointing we were given three mains a fish dish a prawn dish and a lamb dish between four . Both fish dishes were very similar. It would have been nice to taste some other dishes. We were still hungry after mains.
Suggest you choose your own dishes and forget the Banquet it was $30 per head.
Very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh food... Service a bit slow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

The food at Lat-Dior is amazing!!! It is fresh and tasty and healthy. The Ndambe lamb and Yassa chicken are wonderful! We have been here quite often and have found that the service can be quite slow sometimes, but the food more than makes up for the variable service. The food is very cheap as well. Definitely worth it!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Always fresh and never fails to satsify.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This restaurant is such a pleasant surprise. I've eaten there half a dozen times and I love it every time. The food is extremely fresh and tasty as well as being healthy. I wonder why other restaurants can't produce such simple but delicious food at such a great price. Highly recommended. I also recommend the ginger drink and the flat bread. The watercress salad is good too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Something different! Tasty and great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I hadn't eaten African food before I went here. I returned a second time. Lots of taste variety in the main dishes. For two people you need about 3 dishes. The African breads really nice, but order one each. The salad is delicious as are the broccoli and bean sides. Service is fire d,y. The first time I visited the service was quick, the second time it was REALLY slow and I had to ask twice for the drink, and then 45 minutes after ordering with still no food, not even the bread I had to plead for something to eat. They seem to have a very busy take away business a well. Anyway when we eventually got the food it wa so delicious. I'd probably go back, but not for a while so I can forget how slow the service was the second time around. It.s great value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lat-Dior African Eatery also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Lat-Dior African Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lat-Dior African Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.