We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mexicano

Mexicano
209 Ocean St | Shop 2, Sydney, New South Wales 2101, Australia
02 9970 8975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,595 of 5,322 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Mexican!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I've been a couple of time and have enjoyed each time. Portions are a little small for price but well executed. Stools are a little uncomfortable but margaritas are the best in Sydney!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“rip off and still hungry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we went as a family of 4...and sat down - waited 15 minutes until someone could take our order for a drink, and no chips or salsa served in the meantime. All the wait persons are very young and very inexperienced, al rushing around in circles, it seems. The place is extremely noisy and closely seated....
After getting our very expensive margaritas, we ordered pretty much everything on the menu....it's a joke....you are getting less than a serving portion, and splitting it four ways....so paying $20 for one tortilla cut into 4 pieces is unbelievable.....same with the tacos.....so small - its more like eating appetizers for a rip off price.
Everyone was looking at the waiters when they would carry out a tray of food, eyeing it - hoping it was for them.....it's just not a place I would ever go for dinner, especially if you are hungry. And it is EXPENSIVE for what you get.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food & service would definitely recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Took girlfriend for birthday meal, booked online first having heard it gets busy which was really easy.
Our table was available upon arrival. The service was friendly and the food was great all round. Cost is above average but not really a criticism as knew before we went.
Would recommend to others to make the trip out to Narabeen to give it a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not our little secret anymore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

As a resident of the area, I often travel into the Sydney's city or eastern suburbs for a good meal, but the discovery of this little gem has kept me coming back. Now you HAVE to book. The local paper reported last year that even Pink was turned away when she turned up without a booking! This is surprising for what amounts to a tiny little, quite crowded restaurant. Why is it so packed? The menu has a small, but outstanding choice. It's one of those places where you could order anything on the menu and be delighted by the burst of flavours and the combinations. We can't go past the fish tacos, but keep an eye out for the scallop ceviche when it comes back on in the summer. My other secret is the drinks menu. Normally a wine drinker, I found the frozen margaritas irresistible! Okay the high seats are a little awkward for the vertically challenged to climb into and the outdoor seating is unpleasant in winter, but for the locals with so many ordinary food choices, we will keep packing this little gem every night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I don't make the 'best Mexican in Sydney' claim lightly. I've tried at least a dozen Mexican restaurants in Sydney, and many others outside it. This is truly worth the trip, and I drive nearly an hour to get here and leave satisfied every time. This is more your 'street style' Mexican, not the 'large cheesy burrito' style (if that's your style go to Flying Fajita Sisters in Glebe)

The cocktails are delicious, especially the shaken margarita. The cocktail waiters (and indeed all the staff) are the type of genuine, down to earth folk you tend to find on the northern beaches. Be sure to book in advance, typically they have 3 seatings in a night - 6, 7:30 and 9 or similar.

Be sure to try the tostadas, the tacos and the piece de resistance the CORN! Delicious I say.

If you're a Mexican lover, give it a go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexicano also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexicano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.