We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French cuisine at reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Claires kitchen at le Salon

Claires kitchen at le Salon
35 oxford street, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
0414353446
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 4,198 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“French cuisine at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a nice restaurant on Oxford Street not only for the gay but also straight clientele everyone is made welcome - just the way it should be. We have been twice in three weeks and this place is consistently very good.The food is delicious, plentiful and well presented. The service is very good and very helpful they informed us that from Tuesday through Friday it is two courses for $49 per person. So the price is right. Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    22
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“French Flair at the right price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great food with great service. It has a nice sense of french authenticity which is a nice change to the other places on Oxford St..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A little gem in a big City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Well, what can I say about this little gem of a restaurant...Firstly the food, if you love french cooking then you will adore Marks food, if you love good service from genuinely lovely freshmen then you will love here, if you like attention to detail, people who remember you time and time again and can even remember what you had to drink when you were there months before then this is the place for you...its charming yet homely, the decor is beautiful and the atmosphere amazing, I honestly don't want to tell anyone in case I can't get a table next time!! Do go, do try you will love it!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Been to Claires 3 times now and always have a great night.

As soon as you step in the door of venue you feel as if you could be anywhere in France. All staff seem to be french and offer very attentive and efficient service with a smile. They know the food and wine menu inside out and always have recommendations.

The food is beautiful, very fresh and flavoursome. The cheese soufflé, duck and pinor pie and chateaurbriand are my favourites. Last week I took 5 friends to Claires and they were very impressed with the experience and can't wait to go back.

Make sure you book, the place does get very busy and is often fully.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We've had dinner here on numerous occasions over the past year and have never been disappointed. If you're looking for authentic French cooking, then this is the place! The food is consistently wonderful and the staff are absolutely charming. We've introduced friends to this restaurant without hesitation, and they've all loved it as much as we do. The menu is updated regularly, and the cocktails are delightfully creative!

I've also used the upstairs room for a corporate function, which was very successful, and which I would rebook without hesitation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claires kitchen at le Salon also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Claires kitchen at le Salon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claires kitchen at le Salon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.