We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimo is a good location from which to explore inner Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vulcan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vulcan Hotel to your Saves list
Vulcan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Wattle Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ultimo is a good location from which to explore inner Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at the Vulcan Hotel for 3 nights while attending a conference at UTS Sydney. The location was ideal for the conference, easy walking distance from the Central Railway station and close to a variety of interesting places to eat. The staff were friendly and accommodating. My standard double room was clean and comfortable, I especially appreciated having a window I could leave open.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello peonyMelbourne thank you for your review. Thanks for mentioning how handy we are to the UTS and the city. We pride ourselves on being welcoming and friendly. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    110
    38
    24
    19
See reviews for
25
71
31
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Noise outside the room (alleyway) was significant in the early hours of the morning i.e. 4:00am each morning. Not much the hotel can do about that I suppose. The bed was comfortable and warm.
The shower in the bathroom delivered such a fine spray, the entire bathroom filled up with mist very quickly, this was alleviated somewhat by leaving the door to the room open, the ceiling fan then nearly succeeds but with the door closed everything in the room got damp including toilet paper and fresh towels etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 'inside' of the building a probably quieter if getting a good nights sleep is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Glen,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Vulcan Hotel.

You have spurred us into action. The windows you referred to when properly closed provide excellent sound proofing. Unfortunately many Guests do not realise both windows (inner and outer) have to be properly shut. We are having stickers printed reminding Guests.

Last year the Government issued Hotels with water saving shower heads which gave a high pressure spray of very little water. Your review adequitely states the opinion of many of our Guests therefore we have decided to change them again. The few rooms which still don't have
glass shower screens have been measured up and their installation is under way. We are sure you will enjoy these new features on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Vulcan Hotel ! The staff is very friendly. Warm welcoming and lots of good tips to discover the city. The price was totally OK compare to the other hotels in CBD. (By chance we blocked a room on booking.com a few days in advance and got a great deal). The hotel is quite close to Darling Harbour and Georges Street... (10-15minutes walk)
The hotel is quiet and the rooms are clean !
We had a chimney in the room, and A little usefull fridge too, which made us feel like at home !
Only 1 comment: - wifi internet is very lazy and not free of charge unfortunately
We definitely would recommend that address to our friends !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Owner at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Vulcan Hotel on TripAdvisor.

Your review made our staff very happy as we do try hard to please and anticipate your requirements. Your comment about the hazy internet concerns us as we believe that the present installation, made 18 months ago, gave us the best possible connection. Also we employ an IT company 24/7 to keep it that way and have forwarded your review with the request that this comment never happens again.

We have won the award for the best Boutique Hotel and believe we offer more than others but we still make an effort to be very price competitive so you get excellent value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Location of the hotel was excellent. Short walk to everything. Nice restaurants near by. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Room was clean and quiet. Bed comfy but I'm yet to find a hotel that has a decent pillow! . Breakfast in the morning was good, although food not always hot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi Adam,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about the Vulcan Hotel. We are happy you found our location was excellent. Being close to Darling Harbour, Central Station, Broadway, Fish Markets, Casino and the Universities is one of the main features of our Hotel. Our chef assures us that your next Breakfast will be piping hot. He appreciates your comment and apologizes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We thought this Hotel was great value for money. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast café was excellent. Louise and the other Staff made us feel very welcome. Our room was smallish but fine for my daughter and I. It was slightly below street level which was fun. Because the Hotel is centrally located we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go which was very convenient. We will definitely book here next time we come to Sydney.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your comment. Yes, some of our Rooms are smallish but we do have larger rooms which we offer our Guests for a small upgrade fee. We are proud to have such welcoming staff and Louise and the Girls really appreciate your review. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was booked here by the company in Sydney that hired me for the week to deliver a training course.

Got here from the Sydney international airport via the train, getting off at Central Station. Nice walk here this morning, and found that it was close enough to restaurants and Coles supermarket where I could get my fruits and supplies. The hotel has a communal feel to it, in a good way. I liked the clean, no-fuss, no-frills room. It was good enough for me.

But I am also a business traveller who relies on the Internet tremendously to do my work and research. I had to pay AUD10.00 for the Internet throughout the 6-day stay here, and it started really, really, really badly! The Internet keeps going up and down, up and down, and I couldn't get decent work done to prepare for my work on Monday tomorrow. That's a whole Sunday wasted. That's bad!

I hope they fix it tomorrow, but I am tired to make that complain today. Another 6 more days to go. Hope they can improve from Monday onwards. :-(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Vulcan Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry you experienced problems with our Internet on the day of your arrival, however as you said you did not inform us we could not correct it immediately. Fortunately our usual evening procedure detected the faulty router in your area and we were able to reconnect it.

We recommend our Guests to contact Reception at any time as our system allows us to fix issues on the spot. It is in our best interest to provide the best possible Internet service therefore we employ an IT company 24/7.

We are pleased to read your comments about the cleanliness. Our housekeepers work very hard and always appreciate good feedback.

We hope to welcome you again next time you visit Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've stayed here multiple times and the rooms can vary from small to spacious. Overall it is clean, quiet, and conveniently located with friendly staff. The rooms are modern and air conditioned, but most of the rooms have windows you can open for fresh air.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VulcanH, Manager at Vulcan Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor about the Vulcan Hotel.

Being in the centre of the city all of our rooms are airconditioned with windows designed to reduce or eliminate the sounds of city traffic. However most of the windows can be opened which many Guests seem to enjoy.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your previous stays and look forward to accommodate
you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vulcan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcan Hotel

Address: 500 Wattle Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vulcan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is a stylishly renovated heritage listed hotel; the ultimate city retreat. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney features 46 well appointed ensuite rooms that cater for travellers who not only appreciate its quality accommodation but also its personal service and charm. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is centrally located a few minutes walk away from the heart of Sydney's famous Darling Harbour and within short walking distance to Chinatown, Broadway, and the Universities. A quick walk to the monorail or train station and you are in the heart of Sydney City within 10 minutes. The property is also a completely non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vulcan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vulcan Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vulcan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.