We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and under standard” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vulcan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vulcan Hotel to your Saves list
Vulcan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Wattle Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over priced and under standard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

In town for business, I originally was checked into a standard room. When I entered the room it smelt and the air was stagnent, then realized that it wasn't possible to open the window.
Returned to reception asked to be moved the answer was that they were fully booked and there was no alternative. I returned to the room and as soon as I entered again realized that it wasn't acceptable. Returning to reception I asked for a refund as I could not stay in the room for two nights. I was then showed an alternative room, again stale air and not at all acceptable, I was then showed to the family suite. Obviously considerably larger it had windows that opened and it didn't have the horrible stale smell of the other rooms. Happy (enough) with the room (however would never pay the full room price close to $400pn).
After two nights I am happy to be heading home to get a good nights rest as the traffic noise it extreme and it goes ALL night!
Upon checkout the young female receptionist was somewhat passive aggressive and evasive. Not at all helpful when I explained that I didn't have my frequent flyer card with me. (though another receptionist stepped in to assist - thank you!)
Through all advertising collateral it appears as a newly refurbished funky hotel and yes there are aspects that have this look and feel, however scratching the surface only slightly reveals a venue not worthy of its 3.5 stars!
I wanted to love it, but was so disappointed on so many levels! Won't be staying again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    110
    38
    24
    19
See reviews for
25
71
31
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Rooms are small and sparse but have everything you need. Breakfast is relatively cheap for a hotel (though Australia itself is rather expensive these days)

The location in ultimo is super nice. Next door to china town and 10 minute walk from the city center. The nearby university gives the whole neighborhood and extra flair

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I needed to find comfortable and reasonable accommodation for a two week period in the inner west of Sydney so I was delighted to come across the Vulcan Hotel in Ultimo. Friendly service, spotlessly clean, contemporary decor, comfortable beds, well-appointed bathroom, reverse cycle airconditionning and extremely good value for money! In terms of location....just a short distance from Sydney's iconic Broadway Shopping Centre. The only slight negative - taxi-pick up outside the hotel in peak hour is a no-go but George St buses are plentiful and only a stone's throw-away. Outstanding service from efficient and personable hotel manager Christine....will go back again and again...

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior Room rather than a Standard Room as there is a small difference in quality but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Central
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Vulcan made me feel welcome and the quiet and modern comfort was just what I needed. You would never know you were so close to the busy Broadway hub. Only five minutes walk to Central Station and a lovely airy feel to the breakfast room - best old blokes' bar conversion I've seen!
Discovered a real gem of an Italian eatery just across Wattle Street - higly recommended: Insieme

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. Room was a bit on the small side and a little noisy during the night. Doesn't help if you are a light sleeper. Rooms were however, clean and the staff were friendly. Breakfast downstairs was just right. I like the percolated coffee.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

About a month ago I spent 3 weeks in Sydney enjoying time, family and the city.
I stayed at Vulcan Hotel in Ultimo Sydney and that was the most delightful stay I had since a long time.
First, the place is full of charm & character which are both given by the owners ( Carol is an adorable lady, full of kindness & helpful advices) and by the team who make you feel at home or at least staying at some friends place ! It's rare enough in a big city like Sydney, that it deserves to be noticed !
If you want to enjoy a very pleasant and warm stay in Sydney Go, eyes closed, to Vulcan hotel.
It's convenient, very central,( you are at a walk distance of everything), very nicely decorated, friendly ! The breakfast is generous and its price unbeatable!
This is the kind of place , that makes you feel lucky to have discovered it; and like a sailor you look forward coming back in this peaceful harbour .

Room Tip: Ask for room 401 or 402 they are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

my partner and I have stayed here twice and I stayed alone once and we wouldnt go anywhere else when we visit Sydney. It really is all about the very friendly and very helpful staff, the fantastic location (walk to chinatown, glebe, city even). Dont get me wrong the hotel room is clean, modern, tidy and has everything we needed. There isnt any chrome or edgy art work to be seen (which we find a relief) instead its lovely creaky boards (not too creaky tho), staircase for running up and down (there is a lift too) old sash windows that work and delicious breakfast but the peeps make it special and delightful. A gem of a place. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vulcan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulcan Hotel

Address: 500 Wattle Street | Ultimo, Sydney, New South Wales 2007, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vulcan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is a stylishly renovated heritage listed hotel; the ultimate city retreat. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney features 46 well appointed ensuite rooms that cater for travellers who not only appreciate its quality accommodation but also its personal service and charm. The Vulcan Hotel Sydney is centrally located a few minutes walk away from the heart of Sydney's famous Darling Harbour and within short walking distance to Chinatown, Broadway, and the Universities. A quick walk to the monorail or train station and you are in the heart of Sydney City within 10 minutes. The property is also a completely non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vulcan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vulcan Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vulcan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.