We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd rather have been arrested” 1 of 5 stars
Review of George Street Private Hotel

George Street Private Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added George Street Private Hotel to your Saves list
George Street Private Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   700a George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'd rather have been arrested”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

From the minute we walked in the place looked clearly unloved, run down and had absolutely no 'vibe' about it. We were greeted with an average service, though it was service that felt like we were more a nuisance to his day than valued paying customers.

The room itself, a 4 bunk room was clean, although they sent us up while cleaning was still taking place, but sill - credit to the cleaner it looked nice.

Very disappointing also was the farm of extractor fans rattling away in the hallway ALL NIGHT.

When it came time to sleep- I would have rather been arrested and spent a night in jail. The pillow was very uncomfortable, the bed was unsleepable and I have never seen four adults get up so quickly when the 4am alarm went off.

This hotel may be cheap and in a good location but your back and neck will thank you for staying away from this place

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
1
16
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed 4 nights (Wed-Sat) in a twin room. Room was very small with bunk beds, with very little space for luggage.
Our window faced away from the street. However, it was quite noisy at night due to the club below us.
The bathrooms were okay, we never had to wait to use the showers. But there were no shelves to put shampoo etc, only a hook for towels.
The kitchen was reasonable. The fridges were all very full with more cooler bags stored in them than there were guests. The kitchen wasn't too dirty, but that probably depends more on the number of guests staying there.
Wifi was useless, it never worked on any of devices, even when we were in the common room.
Would recommend the hotel for young travellers on a tight budget, due to the convenient locality.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have stayed at the George 3 times now and you know what? it is really cheap. If you want a luxurious hotel experience, this ain't it! But it's cheap and in a good location. My single was $67/night with the bathroom down the hall (which is painful when jet lagged). Yep, it's a little noisy and smells slightly of backpackers but it feels safe.

No elevator so you need to drag your luggage up the steps.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We checked in on a Saturday evening for the night to watch the football. The building has no lifts so the stairs were some journey. Reception was like something out of Psycho, not so welcoming. The room was smelly/dewy with noise from external exhaust fans, it felt like this one time I was put in a jail cell for public nuisance. No heating or cooling meant that I left with hypothermia. There is better quality for the price I paid, in Sydney. You're better off getting arrested for the night and put in a cell, there's no difference. All in all, it was an eventful stay but unfortunately I wont be back.

Room Tip: Maybe try ask for a room on the lowest floor to avoid noise from external mechanical plant. Terania...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

First hotel I stayed in Australia and proberly the worst. I had the advantage of seeing the others and booked this online. Not bad but you will get better for the money it is pretty central and next to the markets. Clean enough but my room was a small bit cram-my.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed in a private room with bathroom with my husband in March 2013. We were going to a concert, and had an appointment early the next morning, so we were looking for the cheapest place as close to central station as possible. As we were in the room for less than 7 hours, we had no need or time to use hotel amenities.

This place was perfect for our needs. The bathroom (ensuite) was clean and relatively modern. The bed and pillows were some of the most comfortable I have ever found in a hotel, regardless of price.

I would seriously stay here again just for the comfy bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Sydney is different in terms of budget and backpacker accomodations compared to the rest of the coast. The George Street Hotel (which is really a hostel) is one of the cheapest places you can get, and even though it is not a bad place to stay (if you compare price and location with other hostels) it is also not one you will have your best memories on.

We had a double room, which was quite small, just big enough to leave the luggage around the bed. It had a TV though, and the room was generally clean. Luckily, we had a big window (we visited another room which had nearly none) to the backyard, so it was not too loud when we left the window open at night - which we had to because the hostel has no aircon (a fan was provided). Linen and towels were free, the towels changed daily.

The hostel has free wifi (but very bad to no reception in the rooms) and a large common room with two PCs, which is closed at 11pm. The kitchen, which is not large when taking the number of rooms into account, but which was never crowded, is also closed at 11pm, and is also generally clean. This does not apply to the bathrooms. They were rarely cleaned, and not exceptionally dirty (except when somebody managed to not hit the toilet while peeing), but always unclean with lots of hair on the ground and in the showers.

The whole place is functional, but without any character. The only people seen in the evenings are those using the wifi in the corridor, or occasionally some drunks partying there. All in all it was ok for a cheap place, and the location on George Street (the main street) and the proximity to Central Station was good, but next time I would spend a few dollars more for a better experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to George Street Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Street Private Hotel

Address: 700a George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Street Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your George Street Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Street Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.