We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of George Street Private Hotel

George Street Private Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
George Street Private Hotel
Save
You added George Street Private Hotel to your Saves list
700a George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One night stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We checked in on a Saturday evening for the night to watch the football. The building has no lifts so the stairs were some journey. Reception was like something out of Psycho, not so welcoming. The room was smelly/dewy with noise from external exhaust fans, it felt like this one time I was put in a jail cell for public nuisance. No heating or cooling meant that I left with hypothermia. There is better quality for the price I paid, in Sydney. You're better off getting arrested for the night and put in a cell, there's no difference. All in all, it was an eventful stay but unfortunately I wont be back.

Room Tip: Maybe try ask for a room on the lowest floor to avoid noise from external mechanical plant. Terania...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
1
15
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

First hotel I stayed in Australia and proberly the worst. I had the advantage of seeing the others and booked this online. Not bad but you will get better for the money it is pretty central and next to the markets. Clean enough but my room was a small bit cram-my.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Arrived after a 24 hour flight jet lagged needing a good night sleep not realising into I got to George St Hotel that the place is more a backpackers than a hotel. Like any backpackers the hallways echo through the night? With the pub Scruffy murphy's on the ground floor rocking away to the early hours, the noise from the CBD and building work in the day sleep was hard to find. The room was very basic and I had to share the bathroom/toilet with the floor. Laundry room had me laughing in stitches, its basically a shed on top of the roof what ended up being a great place to hangout with other backpackers with good views of the CBD.
On the positive side, if you'r backpacking with mates! the location in the centre of the CBD is 5 Star. 5 min walk to Darling Harbour, 10 min walk to Central Station and a walk down George St leads to Sydney Harbour. And I've got to say from a later experience the hotel is better situated than Kings Cross and safer too, what matters the end of the day in a strange city.

Room Tip: Don't have a room overlooking Scruffy Murphy's Goulburn St from Thursday to Sunday if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed in a private room with bathroom with my husband in March 2013. We were going to a concert, and had an appointment early the next morning, so we were looking for the cheapest place as close to central station as possible. As we were in the room for less than 7 hours, we had no need or time to use hotel amenities.

This place was perfect for our needs. The bathroom (ensuite) was clean and relatively modern. The bed and pillows were some of the most comfortable I have ever found in a hotel, regardless of price.

I would seriously stay here again just for the comfy bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Sydney is different in terms of budget and backpacker accomodations compared to the rest of the coast. The George Street Hotel (which is really a hostel) is one of the cheapest places you can get, and even though it is not a bad place to stay (if you compare price and location with other hostels) it is also not one you will have your best memories on.

We had a double room, which was quite small, just big enough to leave the luggage around the bed. It had a TV though, and the room was generally clean. Luckily, we had a big window (we visited another room which had nearly none) to the backyard, so it was not too loud when we left the window open at night - which we had to because the hostel has no aircon (a fan was provided). Linen and towels were free, the towels changed daily.

The hostel has free wifi (but very bad to no reception in the rooms) and a large common room with two PCs, which is closed at 11pm. The kitchen, which is not large when taking the number of rooms into account, but which was never crowded, is also closed at 11pm, and is also generally clean. This does not apply to the bathrooms. They were rarely cleaned, and not exceptionally dirty (except when somebody managed to not hit the toilet while peeing), but always unclean with lots of hair on the ground and in the showers.

The whole place is functional, but without any character. The only people seen in the evenings are those using the wifi in the corridor, or occasionally some drunks partying there. All in all it was ok for a cheap place, and the location on George Street (the main street) and the proximity to Central Station was good, but next time I would spend a few dollars more for a better experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place, clean bathrooms and rooms, powerful showers, TV, good wifi, very friendly staff, centrally located. We stayed here for 3 nights and absolutely loved it, it's better value than Maze and quieter

However, our whole experience was spoilt by one member of staff, one of the elder women with glasses and long redish brown hair:

As we left we said we needed our $20 key deposit back. She said that we hadn't paid this which was strange because we didn't know it was an option for guests not to pay it. She had an accusing, rude tone.
After we showed her the receipt that it had been paid, this wasn't proof enough and she phoned someone else, who then told her to pay it. If she did think we hadn't paid it, that's fine, but she shouldn't accuse us of trying to pull a fast one. No apology from her when she handed over the money.

We then came back after breakfast (an hour later before we got our transfer to the airport) to use the wifi and collect our bags. She opened the door to reception and barked across the room with about 10 other guests present, "are we guests of the hotel". We looked at each other, and sheepishly replied yes, which was very embarrassing.

That was INCREDIBLY rude:
A) we were still guests of the hotel, she should speak to us as if we were
B) there's a code to use the wifi which only guests have access to.
C) after confronting her, she said she didn't recognise us. But she hadn't been in the hostel the whole of our stay. Besides that, we just have her the key an hour ago!

We can forgive misunderstandings, but her tone was accusing and rude and her attitude was shocking.

Shame, really nice hostel, the rest of the staff were super friendly, but that one particular woman spoilt it for us


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The advertisement for this hotel describes it as 'boutique'. I'm not sure what the definition of 'boutique' is but it does not apply to The George Hotel.
It is at best a well located backpackers or budget hotel. The room we had was very small. The carpet, beds and linen provided was clean though the quilt had several cigarette burns despite being a smoke free establishment. I should say however that all our party found the beds sufficiently comfortable. Our room faced George St which proved very noisy. The room had one opening window which needed to remain open as the entire premises was very hot which was surprising given the day/evening was quite cool. Would not be nice at all on a really hot day. The single ceiling fan seemed quite ineffective as there was no cross ventilation.
There were several share toilets and showers and these were grubby.
At $130 for a group of 4 in one room with no bathroom I'm not sure about the value. I've paid a bit more elsewhere and gotten a lot more. Maybe the price just reflects the location.
So, overall an ok stay for a group going to a concert and not keen on the 3 hr train trip after. If you are a bit fussy however, The George is not for you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Street Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Street Private Hotel

Address: 700a George Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Street Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.