We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel to your Saves list
Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   417 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Terrace, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The location was very handy to Central Train station, short walk. The staff were very friendly and helpful, answered all of the questions with a smile. The stairs were somewhat difficult with a suitcase, better with a backpack. The rooms were ok, an old building with some upgrading required! The bathrooms were ok, lots of hot water for the morning showers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    75
    85
    59
    108
See reviews for
7
83
108
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hostel is in an excellent location in the CBD and you can easily walk to all the major attractions. However it certainly is far from the best hostel in the city. The rooms are average and dated and the bathrooms were usually messy. However it sufficed. To get to the rooms you have to walk through the common/kitchen area of each floor. Depending on what time you arrive, this can be frustrating as it is always crowded with people playing drinking games You can barely get past on your own, let alone with luggage! The same issue arises when taking laundry between your room and the laundry room. The hostel is ok for a few days but I would definitely suggest having a look around at the others in the CBD.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is average to say the least. It is only recommended if you're on a strict budget, but if you have a few bucks to spare, then don't waste your time. The location is pretty good - walking distance to the shopping areas & the Sydney sights, but the hotel is so old and dingy that it makes you cringe when you think back on your stay. The bathrooms need some serious maintenance. I had to shower with my flip flops on. The place is cheap so again unless your budget doesn't allow you otherwise, give the place a miss. A few positives - the staff are pretty helpful and they have some interesting activity nights happening, but not enough to get me to go back and stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at the Maze hostel in a double private with shared bathroom facilities. The place really lives up to its name and is a rabbit warren of old rooms surrounding the kitchen and common room. This is the first hostel we have stayed in with a real hostel atmosphere with people coming and going at all hours. Although the place was gigantic there were enough shared facilities to go round. With a massive kitchen area and 4 rooms full of fridge's to store food. Our room was tiny and literally had a bunk bed, a bin and a plastic chair but was okay for what we needed as we were either sightseeing in a bar or sleeping! The hostel was average but its location was fantastic with only a 5-10 minute walk from Central Station and even less to Town Hall, Museum and the nearest tram stop. Surrounded by bars, restaurants and a shopping centre with a massive supermarket the hostel has everything on its door step.

Find out more about our big adventure and where we are going next at chipofftheoldblog.com

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I really don’t know where to start with this review so I think I will start with the positives and then just launch into the negatives.

Positives
-Location is fantastic! Surrounded by pubs, near the tram and walking distance to shops.
-Bring in your own drinks to the common room and have a few ales and meet new people.
- Free pool table, always nice besides the 20 degree lean the table is on.
- Didn’t have to care about the mess you left because no one else did.

Negatives
-Upon arriving they had managed to completely screw up our accommodation after I had booked an 8 bed dorm on the website and then rang a week later to confirm this booking. They had booked for us a 4 bed dorm and three 2 bed dorms which absolutely blew my mind. Thankfully one person had some common sense about them and sorted us out but whenever booking with this place I would probably ring up weekly to confirm the booking due some severely incompetent staff.
-Rooms smelt of odours I have never experienced before.
-At one point 4 out of the 4 toilets in the bathroom were out of order.
-If you opted to shower you came out dirtier than when first entering.
- I found myself wishing I could swap spots with some of the homeless

The hostel was just for somewhere to get some sleep as we were going to be out for the majority of the time but my god was it a depressing place to come back to once being out all day. If you like cockroaches I highly recommend Maze but if not give somewhere else a go.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great location, you can easily walk to the harbour. Free tram is just next to. Not far from the sightseeing meeting places as well. Staff is really helpfull and manage not to allow to enter the place by strangers. I stayed there 3 nights - booked a single room. It was the cheapest single room which I had found in Sydney. Only one single bed - old but comfortable, fan and a small window (glass was brown) which I acidentally closed and they couldn't open but it was ok because the view was terrible and the smell was from the chinese(?) restaurant. It was cheap though. And I was there as a student who was interesting in seeing Sydney, not in resting there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

First of all, I've noticed lots of poor comments about this place... And they really surprise me, It's one of the cheapest places in Sydney!

To start of with, I've stayed in some amazing hotels, and some not so, I've even stayed here twice, for a few weeks.

This place was totally fine, actually it was amazing value for money. YOU'RE ON PITT ST one of the biggest and best streets in Sydney.

The hostel rooms are a little small, but floor space is expensive in the CBD!

The Kitchen facilities are pretty good, I've never seen it unclean or even untidy! Long term people, actually take some pride in the place!

Showers are always available and clean, obviously after peak times they are going to get a little dirty due to the high volume of people and little time to clean!

The hostel staff are really helpful and friendly.

Plus it gives you 12 drink vouchers, free BBQ, Meal and Pancakes... Who can complain for around half the price of other hostels!

To sum up, It is a lively places, with lots of young people. But the hostel security ensures people are quiet after 11pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel

Address: 417 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.