We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Emotions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel

Save Saved
You added Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   417 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 130 Specialty lodging in Sydney
Auckland
1 review
“Mixed Emotions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

If you are looking at travelling cheap than this is the perfect place for you but i would just like to emphasize CHEAP. You definitely get what you pay for here. Highly reccommend the staff! They were very, very friendly and accommodating. Also lots of free activities for guests and free drinks on certain nights. There was however strange noises at about 4am both of the mornings that we were there. A guy was screaming "dont leave me here, dont leave me here" and would then start talking in tongue followed by loud banging noises. Not sure if the noises were coming from the backpackers itself, a neighbouring building or a homeless person outside. Either way it was very scary.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    39
    68
    46
    92
See reviews for
6
64
65
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The building is old and is in need of renovation. The showers were terrible, a mere dribble of water. Rooms are basic but ok. Kitchen facilities were generally ok.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a double room. This was definitely the cheapest hostel anywhere that I found, and there was a reason for that. The staff was very friendly and outgoing which was nice. We did not get any free drinks on check in as advertised on the website but there were definetely activities organized every night. Bathrooms were cleaner and roomierthan many places I have stayed. Carpets in hallway were incredibly old and stained but the place was tidy and regularly cleaned. Our room was incredibly bare bones: literally sheets, duvet (which was lovely and warm and nice) two tiny pillows a table and chair. The mattress... Might as well have slept on the floor.

Pros: fairly clse to Central, friendly, cheap, activities for guests, bathrooms not bad.

Cons: rock hard mattress, flat pillows, dingy carpet in hallway.

Overall: would stay here if iwas travelling on my own, if you're looking for a cheap double bed spend the extra $30 and go somewhere, anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Came down with a friend to visit some other friends and tried to do it on the cheap.
From the moment we walked in the staff were rude and the place smelled like mouldy old dirt and unwashed clothes.
We walked up to our room and nearly cried. There was dirt and stuff clearly visible all over the floor, it smelled like something had died and there was a broken fan just sitting in two pieces on the dirty table. We complained and were then swapped to another two seperate single rooms. They looked like jail cells and smelt just as bad. Especially when we were two young girls who booked a room together, only to be moved to two seperate rooms on seperate floors. As we had just arrived by plane and it was late afternoon evening on a Thursday night we had no other choice but to stay for the night. We went out and tried to stay out as late as possible so we didnt have to spend much time in the room. The next day we booked a room at the Sheraton, which we should have just done in the first place (cant recommend Sheraton enough-blissful). The only good thin g about this backpackers was a young night shift employee who was a little bit chubby with curly hair, he was lovely, helpful annd very nice. If he leaves the place might as well close down. We are not picky people and have stayed at many backpackers before but this place was really that bad. Should be condemned!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

Horrible dirty bathroom. really expensive Internet. Shittest kitchen facilities ever, absolutely tiny and not enough room/equipment for all guests. Lift was broken so had to walk up a million flights of stairs with loads of bags etc. In a good location, good shopping etc nearby although is basically like being in china. Staff were friendly but didn't have our reservation listed so took ages to check in after a 16 hour bus journey. Not good. Only good thing is the entertainment and the free rice and pasta!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Filthy, smelly place. I stayed two nights and was eaten alive by either fleas or bedbugs, I have ugly red welts over my body having woken up itching like a madman. Don't bother staying here, there are far nicer places in Sydney! Just because this place is near the bcd doesn't make it ok to treat their customers with contempt. Until they sort out their hygiene issues that's exactly what they are doing. Unacceptable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

cant believe this back packers is in australia...its disgusting... first of all the staff are indifferent to the drunken people ramming lifts, spilling alcohol everywhere resulting in broken lift and having to carry bags four flights of stairs. bathroom covered in water, mold on shower curtains. springs coming thru mattresses, dirty rooms, old linen, complete attitude of no care by staff, drunken idiots breaking things, security kept busy. REfund refused when asked given we were rushed in the lift by 17 drunken idiots... had to get manager on phone, tried to leave after one hour and refund refuse again...eventually threatened to call health inspectors and refund for two nights given after four hours!!!! Unbelievably horrible nasty place.... do not stay here!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel

Address: 417 Pitt Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 130 Specialty lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maze Backpackers / CB Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.