We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maisonette Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Maisonette Hotel to your Saves list
The Maisonette Hotel
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   31 Challis Avenue | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Bristol
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good value, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Finding a room in Sydney that is a decent price and has the additional benefits of a sink, kettle, microwave and fridge in your room is a definite plus. The single room was tiny but adequate. Great location - a 20 minute walk to Circular Quay & the downtown area through the botanical gardens and just a stone's throw from the shops, cafes and restaurants in nearby Kings Cross. The room was cleaned daily and communal areas kept clean. The stairs are narrow and if you do need use of a lift, this is not a hotel to consider. Overall it was a good find and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    82
    42
    12
    12
See reviews for
22
46
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently got back from Sydney and was staying at The Maisonette during my stay, triple ensuite room. I would really recommend this place as everything is good. The location is centralized (not far from the city and the airport), the room was clean and all the necessary amenities were provided (tv, kitchenette, plates, fork and spoon, iron, iron board, hair dryer). The staff were friendly and helpful too. Our airport shuttle did not turn up and they assisted us to get a cab and asked us to request for a refund from that company upon return.

It was a great experient overall. I will definitely stay here again if I go to Sydney.

PS. The only bad thing is that they have no elevators. For those with big and heavy luggages, good luck with the narrow stairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is well located, clean and good value for money. It is basic, the room we had was small and there was a little noise from the road outside, no nice views from the window, but for our purposes, somewhere central and cheap, it was fine. There is a restaurant below which is nice and convenient, but can be noisy in the evening. The kitchenette was good to have and there is a big supermarket just around the corner. The train station is not far away and you can easily walk into the centre of town. The receptionist was friendly but the reception is not open all the time. Overall we were happy staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

All the positive reviews I see for this hotel are spot on. Don't expect the Ritz, but everything was comfortable and clean. Bring your earplugs if moderate (but tame) restaurant chatter will keep you from sleeping. I love the location next to some very good restaurants (The Buvette, The Fish Shop) and in a safe neighborhood. As single woman, I no qualms walking around at night. The area is gay and hetreo- friendly, and a beautiful half hour walk down to the Botanical Gardens. If you need to save your money, this is a delightful choice.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Good value, very clean, plenty of hot water, bed comfortable. My room was noisy at night , but overall good value for the money for a person on their own wanting en suite facilities. Room 12 is a twin room and so nice space for a single person but looks out on a wall and is directly above the cafe next door's air conditioning machine. Bathroom very good..

Room Tip: Room 12 is a twin room and so nice space for a single person but looks out on a wall and is directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My rating is on the edge of average-poor; I'm generously calling it average. First the positive: comfortable bed, good kitchenette, good location, clean overall.

The negatives: stuffy room, windows that open to back alley (and no air flow), poor bathroom, and noise from the restaurant next door that persists to midnight.

My "Single Ensuite" (135 AUD a night) faced the alley. Avoid any rooms that face this side, as windows open to a wall and there's just about no fresh air. The restaurant's kitchen noise persists well beyond opening hours.

It's possible that other room types are much better; I don't know.

Room Tip: Single Ensuite is NOT recommended. Do not stay on the side of the restaurant, and check this before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

On arrival we were welcomed warmly and given all the info required for our stay as well as a map and some handy tips for getting the most out of our short stay in Sydney. Room was clean and standard size. The bed was really comfy which is always very important. Bit noisy early evening but there are some fantastic restaurants/bars downstairs so you shouldn't be in the room anyway! Quietens down by bedtime/early evening. Location is ideal, about 15min walk to Kings Cross station. Overall highly recommend good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maisonette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maisonette Hotel

Address: 31 Challis Avenue | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Maisonette Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run Australian guest house ideally located in the chic area of Potts Point - perched up high on the edge of Sydney Harbour. The world famous Sydney Harbour is a short stroll through the stunning Royal Botanical Gardens. We offer modern and comfortable accommodation in one of Sydney's best areas. Our friendly team will ensure your stay in Sydney is a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Maisonette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maisonette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.