We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plagues of mosquito!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barker Lodge Motor Inn

Barker Lodge Motor Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sydney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barker Lodge Motor Inn
Save
You added Barker Lodge Motor Inn to your Saves list
32 Barker St | Kingsford, Sydney, New South Wales 2032, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
SYdney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Plagues of mosquito!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

the room itself is not too bad.
but it is plagued with mosquito (i mean plagued, seriously); despite i have never opened the balcony door at all throughout the 2 nights (5 - 6 Oct 2008, room 233).
i couldn't sleep the first night as there are mosquitos flying around my head all the time.
i tried to kill them but only to realise there are way TOO MANY for me to kill - i killed about 15 (!!) the next evening in that room and i was still bothered by mosquito the next night!

i checked out the following day...
i have never see so many mosquito in a single room before.

so if u like killing endless mosquitos and perfecting your mosquito killing skills, Barker Inn is certainly the place to stay.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

We have stayed here a few times because the hotel is directly across the road from the University of NSW where we attend ballet competitions. The rooms are clean and adequate. some of our friends complained of uncomfortable beds, but ours have always been fine (but never as good as home). This time we stayed in a delux room, which was dearer and probably better appointed, but to my thinking the difference was marginal.
Breakfast in the restaurant is not bad, and at $15 per person its reasonably priced. However, there is a MacDonalds a few doors up if that's preferred.
There are a few restaurants around the corner if you want to eat out and not drive, and buses run up Anzac parade and into the City. Coogee beach is a few minutes drive away, but if that's what you want you might be better to stay at some of the hotels there.

  • Liked — Location near university
  • Disliked — other than the University, there is not much nearby
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

I quite enjoyed my recent long weekend stay at this hotel.

Its location has its minuses and pluses. In terms of accessibility, its better than it may look from a street directory. Virutally the only public transport route from Sydney Airport, the 400 service, goes past this hotel. But getting to the city , by public transport or otherwise, can take about 20-30 minutes or so, thanks to traffic conditiosn along Anzac Pde, the main road near the hotel.
Note that there is a shuttle service provided by the hotel, but its probably cheaper to walk up to Anzac Pde, Kingsford's main street, and catch a 400 bus to Sydney Domestic Airport.

Another plus for its location - its great for a visit to the historic La Perouse area at Botany Bay. That's something I tried out. In terms of public transport, try catching the L94, or else any bus labelled "La Perouse" on it. There are lots of these buses , even on Sundays and public holidays. The city bound services, in gereral, terminate at Circular Quay. Others eg the 393 and 395 terminate at Central Station, so interstate travellers arriving by train can catch a bus to and from this motel.

The hotel has a pool , but due to rotten weather I did not try it out. it looked quite nice, though. It does have a satisfactory 24-hour reception, and I certainly liked my room. I was also happy with my full breakfast there. Sadly its restaurant/bar is closed on Sundays, but there are lots of eating spots, including a 24-hour Macdonalds nearby.

A navigation tip: the hotel is located east of Anzac Pde. If you turn into the part of Barker street with Shalom Collge and a macdonalds, you are in the right part of Barker Street. if you turn into the part of Barker Strett with a garage on the right, and the street then 'doglegs' with a park (Kensington Park) on the left hand side, you are in the wrong part of it. I say this thorough personal experience.

  • Liked — Pool, reception, room service
  • Disliked — No lifts to upper-floor rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

I've stayed here 5 times in 2007, and in 4 different rooms. The only reason I stay here is because it is across the road from UNSW which I go to several times a year for weekend school for a course I'm doing. The rooms are ok. I've stayed in better and worse. It could do with an upgrade, but it's probably not in the budget. The staff are generally pretty friendly and helpful. It has a few Foxtel (cable) channels, but one time the only channel I wanted to watch was jumpy. The beds are ok, but the pilows are a flat. The bathrooms are clean, but need updating. One time I thought the shower was mouldy, but it was a discolouration in the glass. I did see a cockroach one time, but it is Sydney, so don't be surprised. The best thing about it is the $5 cooked breakfast. If you book breakfast when you book in it's $5, otherwise if you charge it to your room on the day it's way overpriced. If they have a big group in, the service at breakfast can be slow (one time they had a Salvation Army conference, and another time they had a busload of people fro some family function). It's not really near any sights, and I'm sure there would be similarly priced hotels closer to town or the beaches. It is fairly close to Randwick race course. The closest beach is Coogee, but its about 30 minute walk.

  • Liked — Proximity to UNSW
  • Disliked — the light shining in my room from the landing all night
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barker Lodge Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barker Lodge Motor Inn

Address: 32 Barker St | Kingsford, Sydney, New South Wales 2032, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Barker Lodge Motor Hotel Sydney
Barker Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barker Lodge Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.