We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hostel in Australia” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers to your Saves list
Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers
141 William St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“worst hostel in Australia”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We were meant to stay at Boomerang for 2 nights, however, the hostel was disgusting!!! The messiest hostel i have been to yet. There was god knows what smeared up the walls, and the brown mattresses left a lot to be desired. Reception closes between 12pm - 4pm which is really unhelpful. The number on the door said ring in an emergency, which we needed at one point, and all the staff were at there christmas party and they stated no one could possibly come to the hostel. We left after our first night afraid of what diseases we may catch!!! Do not stay at boomerang - even the airport shuttle bus driver said good luck to us when we got there!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodduckSydney, Owner at Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
This review was written before the Hostel changed name and ownership. The property has since undertaken renovations and upgrades with new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    7
    13
    16
See reviews for
Families
0
14
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

ill tell you now...i stayed here for two months while i worked during my travels. My time here was simply amazing! the atmosphere is the best, people looking out for each other, cooking for each other, getting hammered together and partying across Sydney! When you travel be sure of one thing, it is not the location but the atmosphere! And here it was simply the best!!!

I swear it really was THAT good. the friends you make become like family here! But I suppose that can depend on who is in there at that particular time...however, I still have friends there and they are still loving it!

Anyone on this site who complain that is was 'dirty'...I bet you had no friends there! sorry but its true. im alone traveller, knew no-one when I arrived, but by 4am the following day i was best friends with everyone and it stayed that way till I left!

the kitchen is cleaned three times a day. wash rooms twice a day. and everywhere else cleaned once a day. those pictures that person put up...that is NOT the laundry area, it is the hall way to the laundry area which is basically the cellar (hall way and laundry in cellar)...have you ever seen a picturesque cellar?! ...does it matter what it looks lie, your only in there 3 min!!!
kitchen is always spotless and plenty of free cutlery to use while the lounge area is basic...plenty of dvds to watch and if your not keen on partying, there will be plenty of people in the lounge who you can watch tv with and have a laugh. DO NOT LISTEN TO THE NEGATIVE STUFF ON HERE! RUBBISH FROM CLEARLY RUBBISH PEOPLE! If you want free accom then work there for free as a cleaner, or night manager, or get a job in the city that pays £30,000 a year, Like i did...easily done if you work hard (why i came back to uk ill never know!)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

I stayed at Boomerang Backpackers for a couple of weeks over Christmas and New Years and I had an amazing time! The hostel is well-maintained, and rooms are fairly big and nice and clean. Really good social areas with communal kitchen, TV room and rooftop with fantastic views of the city! Really good location as well, close to the city centre, and also near Kings Cross and its wicked nightlife! Frequent buses to beaches and other places of interest as well. God nightly entertainment, there's something to do with the hostel almost every night, and free wine and cheese night is the perfect kickstart to a Sydney night out! Staff are really friendly and keen to help you, and the on-site travel desk is brilliant, I booked my whole east coast package with these and saved loads of dollars! Would definitely recommend staying here if you want to meet lots of people and just generally have a great time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

if you travel on a tight budget it is a ok place to stay.
The rooms are cleaned by other backpackers (so they dont have to pay for accommodation) so dont expect too much. They hoover the main area of the room and thats it! Dont look in the corners.
TV room was smelly but kitchen clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodduckSydney, Owner at Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
This review was written before the Hostel changed name and ownership. The property has since undertaken renovations and upgrades with new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We booked a double room with ensuite as we saw the flyers in Brisbane. The flyer stated that the double rooms are short walk away and that everything is new. We walked to the hostel in scorching heat only to find out that the double rooms were back at the train station 15min walk- where we started! so we walked back only to find out that reception was shut until 4.30pm- it was 1pm when we got there. Also, that building was under a different name!There was no map of where double rooms are on the website and no indication of reception opening times. once the reception was open, the staff had no idea of our booking, eventhough i had an email of them confirming it! i had to lod into my own email to show them! the room was filthy, old, and had cockroaches! we went to find another hostel and found WAKE UP, which for 15 dollars more was fantastic! please dont stay there, its terrible!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodduckSydney, Owner at Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
This review was written before the Hostel changed name and ownership. The property has since undertaken renovations and upgrades with new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

I stayed here for seven nights over the New year period. Rooms were not cleaned once, toilets and showers were very dirty. Eight people were staying in my room, which should only have held four max...there was no place to put clothes or rucksacks, therefore the floor of the room was covered in clothes and other items. Literally everyone in this hostel gave out about the conditions and indeed the price we were paying. My advice to anyone...don't stay here!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Very dirty hostel
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodduckSydney, Owner at Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
This review was written before the Hostel changed name and ownership. The property has since undertaken renovations and upgrades with new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sospel
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

How can someone says the service is fine? They don't clean the floor of your room, you have 8 seat and 5 cooker places in kichen, for maybe more than 50 guests, and it's so dirty! I don't speak about the toilet. No facilities as described on the website (lockers, free video DVD... only laundry machines), during the breakfast (8 until 9 am only!) you have to ask several times the receptionnist to refill bread or cereals.
There were some works when I was in, the owner was here everyday and never bow to one of the guests.
To conclude, each backpacker who was gone in an other hotel of King Cross said that it was really nicer than the Boomerang.
Why did I stay here? Because I booked in for 4 weeks, from France, the website was nice and gave a good opinion...
There are other backpacker in the same location for the same price, you have the choice.

  • Liked — When I'm gone...
  • Disliked — The Boomerang Backpacker
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodduckSydney, Owner at Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
This review was written before the Hostel changed name and ownership. The property has since undertaken renovations and upgrades with new management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers

Address: 141 William St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodduck Boomerang Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.