We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfred Park Accommodation

Alfred Park Accommodation
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alfred Park Accommodation to your Saves list
Alfred Park Accommodation
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   207 Cleveland St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2016, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

As far as budget Sydney accommodation goes you could do alot worse than Alfred park. Just a short walk up from central station its easy to get places on hush and train with a nice view of the park and a good choice of restaurants and shops in nearby Surry Hills. The kitchen was a shade small and there was no common room but it didn't matter. The staff were all very friendly and the wi-fi signal was very good would defo recommend as somewhere slightly out of the way you can spend a bit of time at.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    32
    21
    10
    12
See reviews for
7
21
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We arrived early morning and were lucky enough to be allowed into our shared dorm room earlier than the check-in time which was a nice little extra that a lot of staff refuse to do. The room itself was a decent size with a fridge and tv and a clean bathroom too which is always a pleasant suprise in any hostel. The location is ok in regards to getting about. It's not far at all from Central Station so if you plan on using the metro to get around; say down to the harbour then you can be there in ten minutes. However it is about a 35-40 minute walk down to the Opera House but strolling through the centre of Sydney it doesn't really seem a chore.

Overall a lot more positives than negatives with this hostel. A lot of the guests seemed to be long-stay and worked in Sydney which suited us as there wasn't much noise at night which allowed us a good sleep as we were always up early to sight-see anyway. The kitchen can get quite crowded around meal times and if the weather isn't great then there isn't anywhere to sit but that wasn't an issue during our stay.

Would recommend staying here on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Alfred Park Accommodation. We, two adults and a 13 and 14 year old, arrived by taxi just before 10pm and Alfred Park refunded us $35 which was great. The Friday night was a little noisy, but once people got told to be quite by somebody it was very quiet. Our quad room with shared facilities did face a court (locked window) and the door faced the court/patio/dining area. The room was pretty small and dark, but had a fan and a/c. The shower and toilet was handy but a bit run down. Kitchen was ok and clean. We had a very good size fridge in our room which was great, there was also a little TV which the kids liked. Overall pretty good for a city stay accommodation when you don't spend much time in your room. Free internet was fantastic, didn't manage to even use up one hour.... and use of printer was great.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. One thing which would have been helpful, a line somewhere to hang up some wet towels. The room got really stuffy, as there was no window to open, with wet towels there. Overall probably would stay again for that price - good location and pretty quiet.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the patio/dining area which is probably a bit noisier than some other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Overall my experience at Alfred Park was good. The office staff were friendly, and the free 4 hours of internet (500MB) was great; I made that last the first 3 days of my week long stay. It was only $3 for each additional 500MB of internet.

The room was clean, though a bit dingy and drab. Not unexpected though, considering it was the cheapest accommodation I could find in central Sydney. The bathroom was clean enough too. Kitchen space was good and the other travelers were friendly. However, only 1 slot in the toaster was working... which was annoying during breakfast hours. And one weeknight some of the burners weren't turning on.

The location of the place is pretty good. Away from the downtown, but about a 10 minute walk to Central Station. Sydney's train system was great, so being close to central was a good spot to be. Plus, the Surry Hills shopping centre - with Coles grocery store - was a 10 minute walk down the street, which made grocery shopping easy enough.

A bit noisy; my room was near the kitchen and on the bottom floor. I could hear footsteps above me and people in the kitchen until 10-10:30 each night, but things seemed to quiet down after that.

Great spot for people looking for reasonable prices and a good central spot in Sydney :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

A truly great experience here. Staff were wonderful and kind and accommodating. Our room was warm and clean as was the bathroom. Common area was friendly and tidy. Really recommend this place. Perfect location and an all-round fantastic stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerane, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed in this hostel for 4 months and really felt like home. The owners are extremely nice and very helpful, the location is amazing and all the facilities were well maintained. In comparison with other hostels the price was super cheap and it's definitely worth it. Thank you guys from Alfred Park, I'll be back :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We arrived early in the morning around 10.30 am. Just a quick walk from central station (cut through the park), in terms of location it is pretty ideal. However, the accomodation itself was disguting.
Crumbling, weathered and dirty exterior makes this look more like a sharehouse then budget accommodation. There was moisture stains all over the carpet in the entrance, peeling back from the walls. The lady at reception was nice enough, and said that we we could go and put our things up in the room which we had reserved.

Turns out, that the room had yet to be cleaned from the previous guests. Paying 40+ a night for a twin (worked out at around 90 bucks for the two of us) I would expect something clean and neat.
What we got was disgusting. After you navigate your way around the dipalidated corridors (mind thepeeling carpet again - and watch the leaking bathroom which were supposedly renovated recently), the room was roughly 3x3, with beds that were neither made up, nor had been cleaned after the previous occupants had left. Combined with the condoms in the bin (again, not cleaned) this was not what we expected. The curtains were filthy, and the room smelled of old cigarette smoke along with something something which I would rather not identify.
We had booked into a room which supposedly had shared facilities. However, the room we received actually did have an en suite attatched. However, a quick glance in showed that the toilet had been blocked and the mold growing here would soon be approaching sentience.
We decided that we would try and find someplace else, so we went to explore other options in the area, letting the lady at the desk know that the room hadn't been cleaned. (not mentioning that we weren't planning to stay in case there was no other accomodation available). Two hours later, we returned to grab our bags. There was what looked like a mother and two daughters smoking in the reception area when we quickly dashed inside to run to the room. The room still hadn't been cleaned. So we picked up our bags, carried them down the stairs (no elevators here!) and ran out. The receptionist was on the phone at the time, so I simply deposited the keys on the bench and left.

Never, ever, EVER again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfred Park Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfred Park Accommodation

Address: 207 Cleveland St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2016, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfred Park Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Alfred Park Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfred Park Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfred Park Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.