We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location good but missing on the 5 star level” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney to your Saves list
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #21 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“location good but missing on the 5 star level”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Location great just near the Rocks. Room size was very good with lovely clean bathroom with big bath HOWEVER aircon did not work stayed at 22 plus degrees which is far too hot.

Fabulous indoor - no outside areas, pool HOWEVER freezing cold! Too cold to swim in even though it was very warm outside. Spa tepid again not warm enough to sit in. Toilets are outside the pool which is a real pain especially if you have children

Breakfast in room Danish pastries overcooked and not what was ordered fruit plate bit ordinary not impressed for what is charged

Room Tip: AWAY FROM LIFTS AND RESTAURANTS ARE quieter> higher up you may get a view but ask to make sure as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear DeniseLock,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us.Your very constructive feedback has been shared with the specific departments for review and training purposes. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay and our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,329
    1,116
    389
    121
    69
See reviews for
301
1,355
187
764
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We booked a mystery deal through Wotif.
The room we were allocated was an "Accessible" room.
The bathroom, well let’s say it would be more suitable to a nursing home, no lid on the toilet, no vanity just a sink, no bath just a completely open shower with a $2 plastic shower curtain (hardly 5 star) and it was less than clean.
The bed and linen both smelt of disinfectant and was very uncomfortable.
One light fitting that continually blinked was found to be held together with blutack.
We complained almost immediately upon check-in and were told that " the room was allocated by wotif and that we could not be moved due to being fully booked. " We were moved the next day to a much better room, but by then our break had been ruined.
We have stayed in hotels around the world, many in Sydney and this was by far our worst experience.

Room Tip: do not accept room 505
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear David S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the Executive Management team for review and training purposes.

Mr. David S, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester, UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Having read the previous reviews of this hotel, it is rare that my thoughts and observations seem to mirror so much what others have said.
I have much the same observations of the Amora, as everyone else, it seems.
Firstly - location is quite good for exploring Sydney. 10 mins walk will get you to The Rocks area, or Circular Quay. Just down the hill is Wynyard station, and also George street, which provides a pleasant walk into the retail district, with plenty of eating opportunities,
Reception area of the hotel quite nice - staff attentive.
What I did find slightly disappointing, for what claims to be a 5 star, are the rooms. I would describe them as being more basic than anticipated. A roller blind at the window, with no curtains? This alone made the room seem more like a motel. As others have said - the positioning of the TV - basically in a wall unit, 90 degrees from the bed, make it an odd viewing experience. Whoever designed that, needs to re think!
We had breakfast at the hotel, which I have to confess was a bit of a disappointment. There was a wedding party that had clearly stayed overnight, so on the one morning, it was relatively busy. Staff struggled to cope. Food was not replenished very quickly, and the coffee was far from being hot. Buffet selection - given the price paid - could have been a little better perhaps.
Overall tho - quite pleasant. Its a city centre hotel after all.
I would consider staying here again - but I would also look at other options as well.
its a good hotel - but could quite easily be an excellent hotel, with a few minor tweaks here and there!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear mel.w,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your kind comment regarding our nice and attentive reception staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the Front Office team. Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the accommodation room, your comment has been shared with the entire Executive management team for review.

We truly hope we can welcome you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Check in was a little slow but when we went to our room we found it very modern, great size and bathroom huge. King sized room and bed!! We had a group booking with seven different rooms and everyone commented that it was great. Centrally located in the middle of Sydney.
Breakfast was good not exceptional. Great mixture of food selection but hot meals were a little limited for a high quality hotel.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room or take advantage of the upgrade to a suite when offered at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear FreqTraveller1975,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It is a pleasure to know you and your group have enjoyed your stay with us. Your very constructive comment regarding the Gallery Restaurant Breakfast is well received and has been shared with the Food & Beverage manager and the Executive Chef for review and training purposes.

We hope to welcome you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed twice in the last month for business and holiday trips to Sydney.

Amora is well located above Wynyard station, a short walk to the Rocks and Circular Quay with easy access to the harbour bridge if you're driving. Hotel parking is $42 / night for self park (about average in Sydney) but is a cramped garage not really suited to anything bigger than a Corolla-sized car.

The hotel has a fitness facility with pool, cafe, restaurant and bar. Didn't use any of these so can't comment.

Rooms are standard hotel rooms but dated and in need of a refresh. The TV in the two different rooms we stayed in was oddly positioned at the top of the built in robe at a 90 degree angle to the bed - had to sit at the end of the bed and look up to watch. Bed was ok. Highlight of the room is the bathroom - big, well lit with a deep bath for soaking.

Check in both times was drawn out with the desk clerk distracted and in one case had difficulty finding my booking even though I provided a copy of the confirmation. Check out both times was prompt, courteous and friendly.

Have stayed here a number of times over the past few years when I can't get in to my preferred hotel. Will continue to do so but it's never my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Canuck-down-under,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your very constructive feedback regarding our recent stay is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the Executive Management team.

Canuck-down-under, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail.

We truly look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the near future and possibly be able to become your preferred hotel in Sydney CBD.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, all the staff are friendly and helpful and the lobby looks and feels like a 5 star - our room was nice (just a standard room) but was a bit dated and I don't think 5 star. The bathroom was quite big and clean so no complaints there. I would stay here again for sure as it is a lovely hotel (and for the right price) but if you are looking for top of the line 5 star I don't think this is the one. If you want to be close to the rocks and circular quay then it is perfect! Took us less than 5mins to walk there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear blueflag08,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

Your feedback regarding the accommodation room is well received and has been shared with the Executive Management team for review. Your positive comment regarding our friendly and helpful staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

We look forward in welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney in the future.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel is great and I stay every time I go to Sydney for work. It's close to the office and to The Rocks which I love with its history and great places to eat and drink.

Staff are helpful. Rooms comfy, lovely bathrooms and good toiletries. Would recommend

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek S, Front Office Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Sarah S4,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel.

It is a pleasure you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your very kind comment regarding our helpful staff is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the entire Amora Team.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Jamison Sydney Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Newly Refurbished Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, enjoying Spanish cuisine in CHARR Restaurant or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.